La SAMS Shares Music Beyond the Concert Halls

Trained as a bassoon player, Francoise Henri (MMus’98) has made it her mission to fill the lives of vulnerable people with music, and the pandemic isn’t slowing her down. Henri is the general and artistic director of the Société pour les arts en milieux de santé, better known as La SAMS.

Published: 6 Jun 2022

Schulich Faculty, Alumni, and Students among the 2022 JUNO Award Winners

The 2022 JUNO Award winners have been announced, and Schulich faculty, students, and alumni are among the talented list of nominees and winners! The Schulich community has won accolades in two categories this year: jazz vocal album of the year and classical album of the year. 

Published: 16 May 2022

Hester Bell Jordan Awarded 2023 Alvin H. Johnson AMS 50 Dissertation Fellowship 

Congratulations to Hester Bell Jordan, current PhD Candidate in Musicology, named as a recipient of the American Musicological Society (AMS) Alvin H. Johnson AMS 50 Dissertation Fellowship. Awarded solely on the basis of academic merit, the Fellowship is a twelve-month stipend set at $24,000 for a current Doctoral Candidate pursuing a dissertation at a North American university.

Published: 4 May 2022

In Memoriam | Boris Brott

It is difficult to imagine the musical landscape without Boris Brott. Through his tireless work, unending passion, and inspiring leadership, he has impacted the lives of countless musicians and audiences around the world.    

Published: 6 Apr 2022

Dean Brenda Ravenscroft receives Influential Leader award from the SWAAC

Brenda Ravenscroft, Dean of the Schulich School of Music, has received the 2022 Angela Hildyard Recognition Award as an Influential Leader given by the Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada (SWAAC).  

Published: 22 Mar 2022

Schulich Alumni and Faculty in the 25th Edition of the Opus Awards

Congratulations to all who received prizes at the 25th edition of the Conseil québécois de la musique’s Opus Awards! With a number of laureates from the Schulich Community, we couldn't be prouder of our faculty and alumni. The ceremony celebrated the ongoing creativity of the Quebec music scene during the 2020-2021 season.

Published: 14 Mar 2022

Schulich Faculty, Alumni, and Students in the 2022 JUNO Award Nominations

The 2022 JUNO Awards nominees have been announced! There are a number of Schulich Faculty, students and alumni featured, and we're are so proud to see our community’s achievements in the spotlight. From Vocal Jazz Album of the year to numerous Classical accolades, there is so much to celebrate. Congratulations to all our faculty, students and community members that help bring music to life with their accomplishments year after year. 

Published: 14 Mar 2022

2021-2022 Wirth Vocal Prize Finalists Announced

We are pleased to announce that the three finalists chosen to compete for the 2021-2022 Wirth Vocal Prize are soprano Alexis Reed, soprano Kelsey Ronn, and soprano Elisabeth Saint-Gelais. These singers were selected from the splendid semifinal round held on Thursday, March 10 at Pollack Hall.    

Published: 10 Mar 2022

In Memoriam | Professor Iwan Edwards

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of Professor Iwan Edwards on March 4, 2022. 

Published: 8 Mar 2022

Professor Martha de Francisco is part of McGill's Bicentennial Digital Time Capsule 

Martha de Francisco, Associate Professor of Sound Recording in the department of Music Research at the Schulich School of Music, is a record producer and recording engineer specializing in Classical music. Her research interests include music recording with virtual acoustics, critical listening studies and the aesthetics of recorded music. 

Published: 5 Mar 2022

Program to Support Graduate Conducting Students Announces Three 2022 Recipients

Andrew Hon, Frédéric-Alexandre Michaud, and Will Myers are the first successful candidates in the inaugural round of the Program to Support Graduate Conducting Students in the Study and Performance of Music by Composers from Underrepresented Groups.

Published: 24 Feb 2022


Back to top