Visiting Scholars and Artists

The Schulich School of Music hosts many visiting researchers (professors, artists/scholars, fellows) and guest lecturers each year.

If you are interested in visiting our school for a semester or more, find out about the application process.

Catherine Thornhill-Steele Visiting Artists

Made possible by the vision and generosity of Seymour Schulich, the Catherine Thornhill Steele Chair in Music was established in 2006. Used each year to invite leading artists to perform and teach at the Schulich School of Music, former guests have included Andrew Dawes, Anton Kuerti, Jens Lindemann and many others. In past years, the Catherine Thornhill-Steele Chair has supported guest artists in woodwinds, brass, early music, jazz and contemporary music.

  • Theo Bleckmann, jazz voice
  • Steven Dann, viola, Catherine Thornhill Steele Chair (2015-2018)
  • David Dolan, improvisation
  • Hae-Sun Kang, violin
  • Barthold Kuijken, guest conductor
  • Marie-Nathalie Lacoursière, baroque dance
  • Daniel Matsukawa, bassoon
  • Robert McDonald, piano
  • Sam Newsome, jazz saxophone
  • Peter Sullivan, trombone

The following artists have been invited to give masterclasses in partnership with McGill's Music Undergraduate Student Association (MUSA), the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) or the Ladies Morning Musical Club (LMMC):

  • Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano (OSM)
  • Laura Barron, flute (OSM)
  • Christine Carter, clarinet (MUSA)
  • Claudia Quintet, jazz area (MUSA)
  • James Ehnes, violin (OSM)
  • Eitan Globerson, piano (MUSA)
  • Georg Graewe, piano improvisation (MUSA)
  • Corey Hamm, piano (MUSA)
  • Michael Ibrahim, saxophone (MUSA)
  • Andy Milne, jazz pianist (MUSA)
  • Truls Mørk, cello (OSM)
  • Moutin Factory, jazz area (MUSA)
  • Julian Prégardien, tenor (OSM)
  • Michael Rabinowitz, improvisation (MUSA)
  • Michael Schade, tenor (OSM)
  • Brett Scott, choral conducting (MUSA)
  • Daniel Stolper, oboe (MUSA)
  • Pieter Wispelwey, cello (LMMC)​

2015-16 Catherine Thornhill-Steele Visiting Artists

  • Roland Auzet (Percussion)    
  • Gordon Bitner (Bass-Baritone)    
  • Donna Brown (Soprano)    
  • Benjamin Butterfield (Tenor)    
  • Rihab Chaieb (Mezzo-Soprano)    
  • Steven Dann (Viola) - Catherine Thornhill-Steele Chair 2015-2018
  • Gerald Finely (Baritone)    
  • Hollenbeck Large Ensemble (Big Band)    
  • Christopher Larkin (Opera Conductor)
  • Jens Lindemann (Trumpet)   
  • New Orford String Quartet (Jonathan Crow, Andrew Wan, Eric Nowlin and Brian Manker)
  • Tara Helen O'Connor (Flute) 
  • Brian O'Kane (Jazz Trumpet)    
  • Daniel Phillips (Violin)    
  • Anthony Prisk (Trumpet)
  • Adam Rogers (Jazz Guitar)    
  • Eugene Rousseau (Saxophone)    
  • Philippe Sly (Baritone)    
  • Janis Steprans (Jazz Saxophone)    
  • Pete Sullivan (Trombone)    
  • Steven Van Gulick (Trumpet)  
  • Jacqueline Woodley (Soprano)    
  • Cristina Zacharias (Violin)    
Back to top