Various scholarships, prizes and medals are open to returning and graduating students. A complete list of Management scholarships can be found in the Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards 2020-21. Registered students are automatically considered by the Undergraduate Scholarships Committee for each award for which they are eligible that are based solely on academic excellence.  

Update for 2020/21 academic year ONLYDue to COVID-19 disruptions, and more flexibility granted for students to choose the Satisfactory/Unsatisfactory option, the eligibility criteria is temporarily amended to require 24 graded credits for the 2020/21 academic session and maintain full-time status in each semester (12 graded credits in Fall and 12 graded credits in Winter). If you are registered for only one term you must complete 12 McGill graded credits.  
Applications for the 2021 will open in May/June 2021. Please refer to your email for more details. 

For more information please contact jennifer.l.hunter [at] (Jennifer Hunter).

  • Applications are required for Scholarships given for academic excellence with leadership, extracurricular and community involvement. 
  • Other awards do not require an application if they are granted solely on academic excellence, students will be informed in the summer if they were selected. 
  • Please note In Course Scholarships when awarded, are deposited into your fall/winter fee account for the following year, you must remain a full-time student to keep the award. Expected Fall 2019 graduates are not eligible to apply.
  • Dean's Honour List for returning student is automatically calculated by the BCom office and will appear on your transcript if you ranked in the top 10% of your class. You must have completed 27 graded credits.  


You may apply to as many awards as you feel you are eligible to receive. Please note that you will ONLY be considered for the awards for which you have applied.

Commerce 1955 Scholarships 

  • entering U1, U2, U3 
  • outstanding academic achievement
  • extracurricular university or civic involvement
  • (3 awards)

Dr. Alex Paterson Scholarship 

  • entering U1, U2, U3
  • completed at least one year of the BCom 
  • high academic standing 
  • leadership skills and community involvement, extra-curricular activities 
  • (2 awards)

Marcel A. Desautels Leadership Scholarship 

  • entering U2 or U3 
  • ​high academic standing 
  • outstanding leadership skills

HSBC Bank Canada Management Awards

  • U2 student
  • Major in Finance 
  • high academic standing 
  • extracurricular involvement 
  • (3 awards)

Hervé Desrosiers Scholarship in Entrepreneurial Studies

  • entering U3
  • concentration in Entrepreneurial Studies, entering the third year 
  • high academic standing 
  • leadership skills and community involvement, extra-curricular activities 

The Danny and Monica Gold Award for Academic Excellence and Leadership

  • entering U3
  • major in International Management 
  • entering third year
  • high academic standing 
  • outstanding leadership qualities 

Shirin Yeganegi Memorial Scholarship 

  • entering U1, U2, U3
  • completed at least one year of BCom
  • high academic standing 
  • outstanding involvement in extra-curricular activities involving student life

Great West Life & London Life Scholarship 

  • entering U3
  • high academic standing 
  • preference given to students involved in extra-curricular activities

Laurentian Bank Scholarships

  • entering U2 or U3
  • Preference to Quebec students
  • strong leadership qualities 

Donald R. McRobie Scholarship 

  • entering U2
  • demonstrated leadership
Philippe & Nan-b de Gaspe Beaubien Citizenship Prize
  • entering U2 or U3 
  • volunteer & corporate social responsibility 
  • Awarded in odd years only

Marion McCall Daly Award

  • Entering U2
  • Academic record
  • Contribution to Canadian life

Sheila Wellington BMO Financial Group Award

  • Entering U1, U2
  • High academic standing
  • Major in Finance 
  • Leadership, community, and extracurricular involvement
  • (2 awards)

Peter Brojde Scholarships

  • Entering U1, U2 
  • Academic merit
  • Demonstrated passion for entrepreneurship 
  • Entrepreneurial leadership 
  • (3 awards)

Graduating Awards 

All scholarships for graduating students, except the Goldbloom Prize, are awarded based on 

  • GPA 
  • Program of study 

For all scholarships see Undergraduate Scholarships & Awards Calendar 2018-19

Stephen S. Goldbloom Memorial Prize 

  • Graduating students only 
  • Does not require full-time status in the final year.
  • $500

Internship Awards

Murdoch Family Initiative Awards

Established in 2012 by Neil Murdoch (BCom'81) and Gisele Murdoch, these awards will support undergraduate students in the Desautels Faculty of Management to take the initiative to gain practical experience during their studies and to encourage students to be creative and entrepreneurial.

The first award will be for a student, in good academic standing, undertaking an internship related to their field of study which is either unpaid, in a non-profit or supra-national agency, or in a developing economy. Students apply through Career Services in the Desautels Faculty of Management. For more information, please click here.

The second award will be for a student, in good academic standing, who has demonstrated entrepreneurial talent and initiative and is involved in an entrepreneurial venture. Students apply through the Dobson Centre for Entrepreneurial Studies. For more information, please click here.

Preference for both awards will be given to students entering U2 or U3. Estimated value for each award: $4,000



Coronavirus (COVID-19)

For the latest information on McGill University's response to COVID-19, please visit the Coronavirus Information website.

For Desautels specific updates please visit our COVID-19 FAQ page.

Back to top