Congratulations to all the Schulich nominees for this year’s Prix Opus and GRAMMY awards!

Published: 2 February 2024

Several Schulich School of Music faculty and alumni are nominated for prizes at the 66th GRAMMY awards and the 27e Prix Opus! We are incredibly proud to see these talented artists being recognized abroad and at home in Quebec.

Here are some of the nominees…

27e Prix OPUS

The 27e Annual Prix Opus is the premier music award for Quebec musicians, presented by the Conseil Quebecois de la Musique. These awards recognize Quebec musicians for their contributions to the province’s rich culture and vibrant artistic community. Le Gala des prix Opus will take place on February 4, 2024 at 3 p.m. in Bourgie Hall of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.


Concerts de l’année - Musiques moderne, contemporaine

Le Quatuor selon Berio (Winner)

The Molinari Quartet - (Olga Ranzenhofer, violin; Antoine Bareil, violin; Frédéric Lambert, viola; Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, cello)


Concerts de l’année – Musiques actuelle, électroacoustique’

Ensemble SuperMusique

Live@CIRMMT, in collaboration with LeVivier


Quasar quatuor de saxophones

Professor Marie-Chantal Leclair (soprano saxophone), Matthew Leclair (Alto saxophone), André Leroux (tenor saxophone), Jean-Marc Bouchard (baritone saxophone)


Ars Numerica

LeVivier@CIRMMT, in collaboration with LeVivier

Exploration Sonore

Quatuor Molinari

Olga Ranzenhofer, violin; Antoine Bareil, violin; Frédéric Lambert, viola; Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, cello


Tout tourne

Vincent Lauzer, recorder (BMus ’10; MMus ’12); Professor Dorothéa Ventura, harpsichord; François Richard, choreographer and dancer; Claire Gignac, stage director


Musiques moderne, contemporaine

6 marimbas

Sixtrum Percussion

Professor Fabrice Marandola, João Catalão, Julien Grégoire, Philip Hornsey, Kristie Ibrahim, Huizi Wang (doctoral student)


Lumières nordiques (Winner)

Vincent Boilard & The Molinari Quartet (Olga Ranzenhofer, violin; Antoine Bareil, violin; Frédéric Lambert, viola; Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, cello)


Musiques classique, romantique, postromantique

Charles Richard-Hamelin & Andrew Wan: trois sonates pour violon et piano de Brahms, Franck et Medtner

Charles Richard-Hamelin, piano (BMus ’11), Professor Andrew Wan, violin



Marianne Trudel, piano solo: « La musique et la vie » (Winner)
Professor Marianne Trudel, piano


Album de l’année – Musiques médiévale, de la Renaissance, baroque

Basta Parlare!
Les BarocudasMarie-Nadeau Tremblay (violin), Tristan Best (viola da gamba), and Nathan Mondry (organ), are Vincent Lauzer, recorder (BMus ’10; MMus ’12); Antoine Malette-Chénier, baroque harp; Hank Knox, harpsichord; and Matthias Soly-Letarte, percussion.


Album de l’année – Musique traditionnelle québécoise

Traverse (Winner)
Laura Risk (PhD ’16), Nicholas Williams, Rachel Aucoin, Indépendant


Prix Opus Montréal- Inclusion et diversité

Tong Wang, Doctoral student


Ensemble Caprice (Winner)

Karin Cuellar, Doctoral student

Manuel López, Doctoral student

Stanislas Germain, Doctoral student

Kyran Chin-Assing (MMus '21)


Discovery of the Year

Meagan Milatz, piano (BMus '15, MMus '17)


66th GRAMMY Awards

The GRAMMY awards are the biggest spotlight on musical talent in the industry. A network of experts and peers across genres and categories helps select these incredibly talented nominees. You can watch the 66th GRAMMY awards on the CBS Television network on Sunday, February 4, 2024, at 8:00 p.m. EST.


Best Choral Performance

Rachmaninoff: All-Night Vigil
Steven Fox, conductor (The Clarion Choir), Producer: Professor Martha de Francisco, Engineer: Brian Losch (MMus ‘10)

The House Of Belonging
Craig Hella Johnson, conductor, Miró Quartet & Conspirare; Haitham Haidar, Conspirare (MMus '17);
Estelí Gomez, Conspirare (MMus ‘11)

Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance

Beethoven For Three: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastorale' And Op. 1, No. 3
Yo-Yo Ma, Emanuel Ax & Leonidas Kavakos; Producer: Professor Steven Epstein, Engineer: Professor Richard King


Rough Magic (Winner)
Roomful of Teeth with Estelí Gomez (MMus ‘11)


Best Immersive Audio Album

The Diary of Alicia Keys 20 (Winner)
Professor George Massenburg (retired from Schulich) & Eric Schilling, immersive mix engineers; Alicia Keys & Ann Mincieli, immersive producers (Alicia Keys)


Best Large Jazz Ensemble Album

Dynamic Maximum Tension

Darcy James Argue (BMus '97)


Are you a Schulich faculty member, staff, student, or alumni who is nominated for a GRAMMY or Prix Opus? Let us know at [at]


Back to top