Management Team


Javad Nasiry

Javad Nasiry 

Professor, Operations Management


Zahoor Saeed Chughtai

zahoor.chughtai [at] (subject: SGI) (Zahoor Saeed Chughtai)


Ashley Jiang

ashley.jiang [at] (subject: SGI) (Ashley Jiang)


Office Heads

Jeff Bergthorson

Power Sustainable Office for Decarbonization

Jeffrey Bergthorson

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Panda Faculty Scholar in Sustainable Engineering & Design and William Dawson Scholar
Associate Director, Trottier Institute for Sustainability in Engineering & Design (TISED)
Associate Director, Centre for Innovation in Storage & Conversion of Energy (McISCE)
Research: Alternative Fuels Laboratory, The McGill Sustainability Systems Initiative (MSSI)


Peer Zumbansen

CIBC Office of Sustainable Finance

Peer Zumbansen

Professor of Business Law, McGill Faculty of Law
Director, McGill Business Law Platform
Blog: McGill Business Law Meter

Kevin Manaugh - Associate Professor jointly appointed to the Department of Geography and McGill School of Environment

Office of Sustainable Mobility Powered by Alstom

Kevin Manaugh

Associate Professor jointly appointed to the Department of Geography and McGill School of Environment



Sebastien Betermier

Sebastien Betermier

Associate Professor of Finance, Desautels Faculty of Management, McGill University
Faculty Director, McGill International Portfolio Challenge
Faculty Scholar in Sustainability

Katrin Tinn

Katrin Tinn

Assistant Professor of Finance, Desautels Faculty of Management, McGill University



Christopher Ragan

Christopher Ragan

Associate Professor, Founding Director, Max Bell School of Public Policy, McGill University


Christopher Ragan is an Associate Professor and the founding Director of McGill University’s Max Bell School of Public Policy.

Ragan was the Chair of Canada’s Ecofiscal Commission, which launched in November 2014 with a 5-year horizon to identify policy options to improve environmental and economic performance in Canada. He was also a member of the federal finance minister’s Advisory Council on Economic Growth, which operated from early 2016 to mid-2019. During 2010-12 he was the President of the Ottawa Economics Association. From 2010-13, Ragan held the David Dodge Chair in Monetary Policy at the C.D. Howe Institute, and for many years was a member of the Institute’s Monetary Policy Council. In 2009-10, Ragan served as the Clifford Clark Visiting Economist at Finance Canada; in 2004-05 he served as Special Advisor to the Governor of the Bank of Canada.

Chris Ragan’s published research focuses mostly on the conduct of macroeconomic policy. His 2004 book, co-edited with William Watson, is called Is the Debt War Over? In 2007 he published A Canadian Priorities Agenda, co-edited with Jeremy Leonard and France St-Hilaire from the Institute for Research on Public Policy. The Ecofiscal Commission’s The Way Forward (2015) was awarded the prestigious Doug Purvis Memorial Prize for the best work in Canadian economic policy.

Ragan is an enthusiastic teacher and public communicator. In 2007 he was awarded the Noel Fieldhouse teaching prize at McGill. He is the author of Economics (formerly co-authored with Richard Lipsey), which after sixteen editions is still the most widely used introductory economics textbook in Canada. Ragan also writes frequent columns for newspapers, most often in The Globe and Mail. He teaches in several MBA and Executive MBA programs, including at McGill, EDHEC in France, and in special courses offered by McKinsey & Company. He gives dozens of public speeches every year.

Ragan received his B.A. (Honours) in economics in 1984 from the University of Victoria and his M.A. in economics from Queen’s University in 1985. He then moved to Cambridge, Massachusetts where he completed his Ph.D. in economics at M.I.T. in 1989.

Markus Poschke

Markus Poschke

Associate Professor and William Dawson Scholar, Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts, McGill University

Back to top