Schulich's Opus Award Winners 2019-2020


Published: 16Feb2021
CQM Logo

Congratulations to all who received prizes at the 24th edition of the Conseil québécois de la musique’s Opus Awards! Many of the laureates were from the Schulich Community, and we couldn't be prouder. The ceremony celebrated the inspired resilience of the Quebec music scene during the 2019-2020 season, which included musical projects presented both before and since the pandemic began.

Held virtually on Sunday, February 7, 2021 the Gala was open to the general public for the first time ever via Télé-Québec’s La Fabrique culturelle’s Facebook page. Singer and ICI Musique host Marc Hervieux was master of ceremonies, and musician and host Catherine Perrin interviewed special award recipients. The ceremony, musical performances, virtual acceptance speeches, and interviews are available for viewing until the end of February on the CQM’s Facebook page — definitely worth a (re)watch!

Read below for a snapshot of Schulich faculty, staff, students, and alumni who were among the prize-winners and visit for the complete list.

Concert of the Year – Medieval, Renaissance and Baroque music | Telemann à Paris, Arion Orchestre Baroque, Mathieu Lussier, chef et basson baroque, Vincent Lauzer, flûte à bec, 18 au 20 octobre 2019

Many Schulich early musicians play regularly with Arion Baroque, including Schulich faculty (and ensemble founding member) Hank Knox and Sylvain Bergeron as well as alumni Matthew Jennejohn, Vincent Lauzer, Tanya LaPerrière, Camille Paquette-Roy, Alexa Raine-Wright, Sari Tsuji, and Amanda Keesmat.

Concert of the Year – Classical, Romantic, post-Romantic and Impressionist music | Joyce DiDonato & Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Orchestre Métropolitain, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, chef, Joyce DiDonato, mezzo-soprano, 19 novembre 2019

Honorary doctorate recipient Yannick Nézet-Séguin was also awarded Artistic Director of the Year for his work with Orchestre Métropolitain (where one can hear a number of Schulich Community members) during the Gala.

Concert of the year - Modern and Contemporary music | Envoi : Hommage collectif III à Gilles Tremblay, Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM+), Ensemble Paramirabo, Ensemble Magnitude6, Louise Bessette, piano, Véronique Lacroix et Jeffrey Stonehouse, direction artistique, en collaboration avec le Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, 24 janvier 2020.

Ensemble Paramirabo is directed by Schulich alumnus Jeffrey Stonehouse, flute and features doctoral student David Therrien-Brongo.

Concert of the year – Jazz | Rémi Bolduc Jazz Ensemble avec invitée spéciale : Funky Princess, Rémi Bolduc et Chantal De Villiers alias Funky Princess, saxophones, Taurey Butler, piano, Fraser Hollins, basse, Dave Laing, batterie, Productions Art and Soul, 20 février 2020

Rémi Bolduc, Fraser Hollins, and Dave Laing are all members of our renowned Jazz department.

Album of the year - Classical, Romantic, post-Romantic and Impressionist music | Chopin : Ballades et impromptus, Charles Richard-Hamelin, Analekta

Charles Richard-Hamelin completed his bachelor’s degree at Schulich.

Album of the Year - Modern and Contemporary music | Henryk Górecki : Intégrale des quatuors à cordes, Quatuor Molinari, ATMA Classique

Frédéric Lambert earned his doctorate in performance at McGill, serves on the Schulich faculty, and plays viola in this preeminent new music ensemble. The Quatuor Molinari was also part of the inaugural Graham Sommer Competition in 2008.

Album of the Year - World music and Traditional Québec music | Levantine Rhapsody, Didem Başar, Patrick Graham, Noémy Braun, Guy Pelletier, Brigitte Dajczer, Centre des musiciens du monde, Analekta

Featuring alumni Patrick Graham and Noémy Braun. Enjoy Patrick’s recent album, Refractions released this past December

Article of the Year | « De l’intention musicale au jeu instrumental. Développement d’un protocole de recherche pour l’analyse qualitative et quantitative de trois styles d’interprétation d’une œuvre de J.- S. Bach au piano », Viktor Lazarov, Simon Rennotte, Caroline Traube, Revue musicale de l'OICRM, 2019

Viktor Lazarov studied Piano Performance at McGill, receiving his master’s as well as graduate diploma.

Composer of the Year | James O’Callaghan — The Conseil des arts et des lettres awarded $10,000 to the winner.

You can visit our alumni profile of James O’Callaghan here.

Artist of the Year | Elinor Frey — The Canada Council for the Arts awarded $5,000 to the winner.

Alumnus and current instructor Elinor Frey is an active member of the Schulich Community both in Montreal and internationally, always finding creative ways to share music.

Musical Event of the Year | Mini-Concerts Santé - Ensemble Caprice, Ensemble vocal Arts-Québec, juin à septembre 2020

Led by Early Music faculty member Matthias Maute, the Ensemble Caprice features many of our Schulich faculty and alumni as members and guests.

International Achievement | QUASAR quatuor de saxophones - Tournée Colombie-Britannique, Europe et Amérique — CINARS awarded $2,000 to the winner.

Schulich saxophone faculty Marie-Chantal Leclair has been QUASAR’s Artistic Director
since the ensemble’s inception in 1991.

Prix Hommage | Kent Nagano

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) conductor Kent Nagano is the recipient of an honorary doctorate from the Schulich School of Music. As he leaves his position at the OSM we will feel his impact for years to come. From his leading the McGill Symphony Orchestra to the numerous Schulich faculty and alumni that call the OSM home, we have enjoyed and learned from the maestro, and celebrate what he’s given to the community.



Back to top