Schulich students and alumni win SOCAN Foundation Awards


Published: 27Oct2020
SOCAN Foundation logo

This year’s recipients of the SOCAN Foundation Young Composer Awards and Emerging Screen Composer Awards include several members of Schulich’s community!

Congratulations to: 

  • Joey Reda (BMus ’17) 
    • 2nd prize winner, Best Original Score – Animated  
  • Christina Volpini (MMus ’17) 
    • 1st prize winner, Chamber Ensemble  
    • 3rd prize winner, Large Ensemble  
  • Scott Ross-Molyneux (Bmus ’15) 
    • 2nd prize winner, Choral  
  • Leo Purich (BMus ’23) 
    • Under 21 winner, Large Ensemble  
  • Seth Gordon (BMus ’20) 
    • Under 21 winner, Electroacoustic  

The SOCAN Foundation’s mission is to foster, sustain, and promote the creation of Canadian music. 

About the Young Composer Awards 

This annual competition recognizes Canadian composers who are 30 years of age or under for original concert music works in categories such as chamber music, large ensemble, choral, electroacoustic, and solo and duet. This year’s cash prizes amounted to $46,250. Jury members included Rodney Sharman, Nicole Lizée, and Jean Lesage. 

About the Emerging Screen Composer Awards 

Designed to recognize Canadian screen composers ages 30 or under, this annual competition focuses on original musical themes or scores created exclusively for audio-visual support. This year’s cash prizes totaled $26,000 and jury composers included Viviane Audet, Mark Korven, and Erica Procunier. 

Find all of this year’s SOCAN Foundation award winners here. 



Back to top