Matthew Ricketts accepts award from Douglas McNabney

Matthew Ricketts wins grand prize

The Graham Sommer Competition is proud to announce that Matthew Ricketts is the grand prize winner of the second edition of the  Graham Sommer Competition for Young Composers


1st Prize ($15,000 CA)
Matthew Ricketts

2nd Prize ($9,000 CA)
Alec Hall

3 Honorable Mention Awards ($3,000 CA each)
Laurence Jobidon, Michael Kim-Sheng, Jared Miller

People's Choice Award ($6,000 CA)
Michael Kim-Sheng

2020 Graham Sommer Competition Finalists


2021 Finalists

Composers Alec Hall, Laurence Jobidon, Michael Kim-Sheng, Jared Miller and Matthew Ricketts compete in the GSC's final round.


The Jury

The jury for this competition is made up of Canadian and international composers, distinguished members of the musical community and an internationally recognized performer.

Back to top