Musical 5 à 7 | Crossview Sessions

Thursday, October 6, 2022 17:30to19:00
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building Tanna Schulich Hall , 527 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, QC, H3A 1E3, CA
Free Admission | Paying Bar Opens at 5:00 p.m.
Black text on coral background with purple rectangles

Crossview Sessions


Erich Barganier, guitar and electronics
Stanford Cheung, piano and electronics

YASUJIRŌ OZU Tokyo Story Scene Nos. 1–4 
Live scoring and improvisations by STANFORD CHEUNG and ERICH BARGANIER 

[Music Graduate Students' Society proposal selection]

About the concert

Pianist, sound architect Stanford Cheung and composer, electronic artist, and guitarist Erich Barganier take the concert stage to dismantle the boundaries in music and narrative through live scoring, improvisation, visuals, electronics, found objects, piano, and guitar.  

Crossview Sessions is a sonic experiment that realizes the filmmaker Yasujirō Ozu’s cinematic aesthetic “pillow shot” through live scoring and improvisation. “Pillow shot” is a form of “cutaway” where the view diverts from the narrative towards an unrelated scene before proceeding onwards. The result is a diegesis of classicism enriched by fresh and idiosyncratic spontaneity. A selection of Ozu’s films will be collaged for the live scoring component. Intertwined between the live scoring sections are a series of improvisatory interludes. These improvisations will function as the cutaways that juxtapose sections of Ozu’s films with each other to convey alternative ways of perceiving space and time. 

Erich Barganier is a composer and multi-instrumentalist hailing from St. Petersburg, Florida, who currently resides between New York City and Montreal. He writes and performs chamber, orchestral, film, solo instrumental and electronic music that explores experimental technology, the edge of noise, improvisation, generative processes, and new forms of notation. His music has been released on People Places Records, [walnut+locust], Belts and Whistles Records, Infrequent Seams, Off Latch Press, and Nebularosa Records, among others. Barganier's works have been presented by Bang on a Can, The International Computer Music Conference (ICMC), New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (NYCEMF), Mostly Modern Festival, The New Music Gathering, National Sawdust, Le Poisson Rouge, Diffrazioni Festival, Spectra Malaysia, Arts, Letters, & Numbers, New Music New College, and New York University. You can learn more about his music at barganiermusic.com  

Stanford Cheung engages across a variety of creative hubs as a classical pianist, sonic artist, improvisor, and multi-disciplinary poet. From concerto performances with orchestras, poetry recitals, to electronic free-form improvisation for art installations, Cheung has collaborated internationally with a variety of artists and scholars, including Morgan Fisher, Steven J Fowler, Shahzad Ismaily and Nobuo Kubota. Cheung’s commissioned projects have been exhibited or forthcoming at the People Festival (Pioneer Works), the 43rd Rhubarb Festival (Buddies in Bad Times), IKLECTIK UK, Experimental Sound Studios Chicago, Banff Centre for the Arts, Orpheus Institute Gent, Kitakyushu Centre for Contemporary Arts, Tokyo Poetry Journal, among others. He runs a multimodal soundscape project called The Yuha Archive. You can find him at stanfordcheung.com  

Back to top