2021 MAA Honours and Awards recipients

Published: 24 September 2021

We are pleased to announce that three Desautels alumni have been selected to receive 2021 McGill Alumni Association (MAA) Awards. This year’s recipients will be honoured at a special virtual ceremony on Thursday, September 30 at 5:30 PM (EDT).

D. Lorne Gales Special Recognition Award: Robert Fetherstonhaugh, BCom’78, DPA’80

Since graduating from our BCom program in 1978, Robert Fetherstonhaugh has demonstrated a keenness for his alma mater and an unwavering commitment to the well-being of the Faculty. Currently a member of our International Advisory Board, his generous financial support, his contributed time and his service make him a dedicated volunteer, alumnus and ambassador of our Desautels family.

Robert Fung International Award of Distinction: Alex Banh, BCom’93

Alex Banh, a graduate of our BCom program in 1993, has proven to be a vital member of our global community of alumni. He is a dedicated steward of the relationship between McGill and Desautels’ Asia-based alumni. Currently serving on our International Advisory Board, he brings over 15 years of operations experience in technology firms in fast growing markets, including China and Southeast Asia, with expertise in managing early-stage businesses and cultivating strategic partnerships.

David Johnston Faculty and Staff Award: Dr. Anita Nowak, BCom’97, PhD’11

Anita Nowak is a valued member of our faculty and highly deserving of this honour. Having graduated from our BCom in 1997 and after returning to complete her PhD in 2011, Anita remains connected to Desautels as an instructor. Passionate about engaging with her students, she has sparked an interest in social entrepreneurship among those that she teaches and has a reputation for hosting highly sought-after guest lecturers in her classes.



For more information or if you would like to report an error, please web.desautels [at] (subject: Website%20News%20Comments) (contact us).

Back to top