2018 winners

2018 Osler Essay Award Finalists

All of this year's essay award participants had to contend with an unexpected disruption to their research when the Osler Library had to close due to a roof fire in July. This year, we salute all of those who did research for the essay award, and extend particular congratulations to the three finalists. The judges had tough decisions to make, and it is with admiration for McGill's medical students that we announce the winners:  

First place: Benjamin Mappin-Kasirer, “Une médecine sans médecins”?: Objectivity in the Paris Clinic (Mentor: Abraham Fuks). Read Benjamin Mappin-Kasirer's reflective piece.

Second place: Aditi Kantipuly, Surgery of the Soul: Lobotomy in Quebec (Mentor: Richard Fraser). Read Aditi Kantipuly's reflective piece.

Third place: Kacper Niburski, Imprinting Care: The Creation and Standardization of Medical Records (Mentor: Thomas Schlich). Read Kacper Niburski's reflective piece. The paper has been published in the Permanente Journal and can be found here.

Questions? Ask us!  Chat • Email • Text • Call            Send feedback    Report a problem

Back to top