Professor Huising appointed William Dawson Scholar


Published: 15Apr2016

The Desautels Faculty of Management is pleased to announce that Professor Ruthanne Huising has been appointed William Dawson Scholar by McGill University. William Dawson Chairs are intended to recognize the outstanding work of younger scholars at McGill.

Professor Huising is a renowned ethnographer examining how technological and institutional pressures change how work is organized and managed. She teaches and researches in the fields of Managing Organizational Change. The appointment as a William Dawson Scholar underscores her important contributions to Faculty life and research in the Organizational Behaviour area.

Professor Huising has received numerous awards for her teaching and scholarship, including the Desautels Faculty of Management Undergraduate Teaching Award (2014), the Desautels Faculty of Management Undergraduate Society’s Prize for Professor of the Year (2011), the W. Richard Scott Award for Distinguished Scholarship, American Sociological Association (2012), the Best Paper Prize, Regulation and Governance (2011), Best Paper Prize ASQ, HEC and OMT Conference on Coordination (2011), Best Dissertation Paper Award, Labor and Employment Relations Association (2008). 

About James McGill Professorships and William Dawson Scholarships:

In 2000, institutional recognition awards, namely the James McGill Professors and William Dawson Scholars, were created in parallel with the Canada Research Chair program to recognize the outstanding research contributions of academic staff members currently in place at McGill University.

Desautels Faculty of Management now boasts four such award recipients: Professors Laurette Dubé, Alain Pinsonneault and Vedat Verter each received James McGill Professorships.