DGFRC-sponsored finance workshop concludes successfully

Published: 1 April 2022

The 9th edition of HEC-McGill Winter Finance Workshop as a special edition in collaboration with Goethe University successfully concluded on March 29, 2022. The conference, sponsored by the Desmarais Global Finance Research Centre, took place March 27-29 in Ischgl, Austria, and featured presentations of academic papers in all areas of finance, including interdisciplinary work in law and finance.

To close out the conference, awards were given in recognition of those who displayed exemplary work with their papers and discussants. Prof. Bo Bian from the University of British Columbia Sauder School of Business received the conference’s Best Paper Award for her paper “Conflicting Fiduciary Duties and Fire Sales of VC-Backed Start-ups,” co-authored with Yingxiang Li and Casimiro A. Nigro.

“I’m very honoured to win the award, and it is very encouraging for a junior like me to learn that my research draws interest from a broad and diversified audience,” wrote Bian. “The conference itself was just amazing - a lot of opportunities to learn and interact. Many thanks to the organizers.”

The Best Discussant Award was presented to Prof. Francesco Sangiorgi from the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management for his discussion of the paper “The Optimal Design of Green Securities,” by Prof. Adelina Barbalau and Federica Zeni.

“I am honoured to have received the Best Discussant Award at this year’s HEC-McGill Winter Finance Workshop,” Sangiorgi wrote. “I learned a great deal about the design of green debt securities from reading the paper, and I am glad that my discussion was well-received. Still, I learned even more from the other conference participants’ presentations and discussions. I sincerely thank the Finance departments of HEC Montréal, the Desmarais Global Finance Research Centre at McGill University, and the Center for Advanced Studies on the Foundations of Law and Finance for organizing such a successful event.”

Among the event organizers were Professors Patrick Augustin and Jan Ericsson.

Congratulations to the two winners and thank you to all who attended!


For more information or if you would like to report an error, please web.desautels [at] (subject: Website%20News%20Comments) (contact us).

Back to top