Tanenbaum Open Science Institute (TOSI)


TOSI establishes The Neuro as a leader and living lab for Open Science, with the dual mission of:

  • Establishing best practices and developing tools and infrastructure to support Open Science at The Neuro
  • Encouraging and supporting other Canadian neuroscience institutions to embrace this new way of doing research



Guy Rouleau

Guy Rouleau
Director, The Neuro
Co-Founder of the Tanenbaum Open Science Institute


Annabel Seyller

annabel.seyller [at] mcgill.ca (Annabel Seyller)
Chief of Staff, The Neuro
CEO, Tanenbaum Open Science Institute


picture of Gabriel Pelletier

gabriel.pelletier [at] mcgill.ca (Gabriel Pelletier)
Open Science Data Manager
Interim Open Science Alliance Officer

Headshot of Luisa Pimentel

luisa.pimentel [at] mcgill.ca (Luisa Pimentel)
Open Science Community Officer


Founders Group

Larry Tanenbaum and Heather Munroe-Blum lead the TOSI Founders Group. Together, they work to:

  • Promote, support and propel Open Science to accelerate discovery and guide The Neuro’s transformative journey
  • Broker, foster and nurture relationships and gather resources to support and advance The Neuro's Open Science mission.

Leaders Council

The TOSI Leaders Council consists of twelve members who:

  • Serve as ambassadors in promoting the mission and goals of Open Science
  • Advise on issues and opportunities in the fields of science, policy, governance, finance, and human resources
  • Evaluate the advancement of this innovative research model.


Naomi Azrieli, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Azrieli Foundation

Alan Bernstein, President and Chief Executive Officer, CIFAR

Jacques Bougie, Chair of The Neuro Advisory Board (ex-officio member)

Aled Edwards, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Structural Genomics Consortium

Rubin Gruber, Entrepreneur and Investor

Robert Mark Krembil, President, Krembil Foundation

Frank Litvack, Executive Chairman, Capricor Therapeutics

Jeff Mallett, Founding President and Chief Operating Officer, Director, Yahoo!

Lisa McKerracher, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, BioAxone

Heather Munroe-Blum, Chairperson, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board; former Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University (2003-2013); TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Guy Rouleau (Chair), Director, The Neuro, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Larry Tanenbaum, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Kilmer Van Nostrand Co. Limited, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

From left to right:
Jeff Mallet, Frank Litvack, Heather Munroe-Blum, Aled Edwards, Robert Mark Krembil, Lisa McKerracher, Rubin Gruber, Larry Tanenbaum, Guy Rouleau
Missing from photo: Naomi Azrieli and Jacques Bougie

Open Science Grassroots Initiatives Committee

The Committee encourages and promotes Open Science grassroots initiatives and research practices at The Neuro and beyond for the advancement of knowledge and clinical care, and the welfare of the community. It aims to:

  • Collect and understand what our researchers need to adopt Open Science practices and deliver concrete outcomes in research and education
  • Keep our Open Science model at the cutting-edge by providing practical and strategic insights on current open science research worldwide
  • Define top priorities for implementation at The Neuro and report to TOSI’s Leaders Council.


jo.stratton [at] mcgill.ca (Jo Anne Stratton) (Co-Chair)
annabel.seyller [at] mcgill.ca (Annabel Seyller) (TOSI Co-Chair)

annabel.seyller [at] mcgill.ca (Boris Bernhardt) 

christine.tardif [at] mcgill.ca (Christine Lucas Tardif) 

ed.ruthazer [at] mcgill.ca (Edward Ruthazer)

madeleine.sharp [at] mcgill.ca (Madeleine Sharp) 

roberta.lapiana [at] mcgill.ca (Roberta La Piana)

jean-baptiste.poline [at] mcgill.ca (Jean-Baptiste Poline)

ziv.gan-or [at] mcgill.ca (Ziv Gan-Or)

thomas.durcan [at] mcgill.ca (Thomas Durcan)

henry.denny [at] mail.mcgill.ca (Henry Denny (Trainee Representative))

Term: 2 years, renewable

Open Science Trainee Council

The Trainee Council is a 20-person committee composed of undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral trainees at McGill University. Operating under the mentorship of the TOSI Grassroots Committee, their mandate is to build and support an Open Science student community to accelerate culture change in research labs and neuroscience education from the ground up, by:   

  • Organizing Open Science awareness events tailored to the trainee community.  

  • Providing peer-to-peer support and designing training programs to facilitate Open Science education and the implementation of Open Science practices by trainees.  

  • Incentivizing research trainees to adopt OS practices by supporting their work in OS through student-led awards. 


henry.denny [at] mail.mcgill.ca (Henry Denny (Chair)) 

Luc Wilson 

Wimmy Miller

Judy Chen

Finn Creeggan

Phoenix Plessas-Azurduy

Cathy Fang

Grace Yu

Sophie Hoyer

Darby Bohunicky

Rosalie Gendron

Nour Chahine

Christian Ramos Jimenez

Niusha Mirhakimi

Rachel de Barros Oliveira

Shanny Foo

Sehrish Javed

Kayleigh Casmey

Yanan Liu

Hannah Derue

Term: 2 years, renewable

The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam Laureates


The Neuro (Montreal Neurological Institute-Hospital) is a bilingual academic healthcare institution. We are a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering high-quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.



Facebook instagram x, formerly known as twitter linkedIn youtube

Back to top