Awards at a Glance

Award-winning Researchers, Healthcare Professionals at The Neuro 

16 Royal Society of Canada Fellows
7 Distinguished James McGill Professors
4 James McGill Professors
2 William Dawson Scholars
13 Killam Scholars
5 Prix du Quebec - Prix Wilder Penfield
4 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates
11 Canada Research Chairs
4 Orders of Canada
3 Orders of Quebec
2 Royal Society of London Fellows
2 American Academy of Arts and Science Members
2 Killam Professors
1 Killam Chair
1 Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences (USA)
1 Balzan Prize
1 Dan David Prize
1 Gairdner Award
1 Kavli Prize
2 Killam Prize


The exceptional quality of our faculty, staff, and students creates a vibrant environment for research, clinical and teaching activities.
Many honours and awards have been bestowed on our faculty and staff in recognition of their outstanding work. (+deceased) 


Great Montrealers

William Feindel+

Brenda Milner

Distinguished James McGill Professors

Peter McPherson

Stefano Stifani

Guy Rouleau

Michael Petrides

Douglas Arnold

Alan Evans

Wayne Sossin

James McGill Professors

Louis Collins

Eric Shoubridge

Edward Ruthazer

Nathan Spreng

William Dawson Scholars

Ziv Gan-Or

Udunna Anazodo


Abbas Sadikot, W.V. Cone Chair in Neurosurgery

Alan C Evans, Victor Dahdaleh Chair in Neurosciences

Kevin Petrecca, William Feindel Chair in Neuro-Oncology

Brenda Milner, Dorothy J. Killam Professor in Neuropsychology

Eric Shoubridge, Izaak Walton Killam Chair in Neurology

TBA, Killam Professor


Order of Québec

William Feindel, GOQ+

George Karpati, OQ+

Brenda Milner, GOQ

Frederick Andermann, OQ+

Guy Rouleau, OQ

FRQS Scholars

National Scholars

Andrea Bernasconi

Edward Fon

Neda Ladbon Bernasconi 

Chris Pack 

Simon Ducharme 

Senior Scholars

Sylvain Baillet

Prix du Québec Wilder Penfield

Brenda Milner (1993)

Frederick Andermann (2003)+

George Karpati+ (2006)

Guy Rouleau (2012)

Alan Evans (2016)

Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec

Prix d’excellence en innovations des soins de santé (2016)
Donatella Tampieri


Order of Canada

Frederick Andermann, OC+

Donald Baxter, OC+

Gilles Bertrand, OC

William Feindel, OC+

George Karpati, OC+

Brenda Milner, CC

Hanna Pappius, OC+ (2019)

Guy Rouleau, OC (2020)

Royal Society of Canada

Brenda Milner (1975)

George Karpati+ (1999)

Daniel Guitton (2004)

Eric Shoubridge (2004)

Barbara Jones+ (2010)

Frederick Andermann+ (2011)

Michael Petrides (2011)

Peter McPherson (2014)

Alan Evans (2015)

Guy Rouleau (2016)

Edith Hamel (2017)

Robert Zatorre (2017)

Julien Doyon (2017)

Heidi McBride (2022)

Nathan Spreng (2022)

Louis Collins (2023)

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

William Feindel+

Herbert Jasper+

Brenda Milner

Wilder Penfield+

Canada Research Chairs

Tier 1

Sylvain Baillet

Edward Fon

Heidi McBride

Robert Zatorre


Tier 2

Boris Bernhardt

Xiaoqian Chai

Yasser Iturria-Medina

Bratislav Misic

Adrien Peyrache

Stuart Trenholm

Yang Zhou

Margolese Prize

Guy Rouleau (2012)

Alan Evans (2014)

Killam Prize (Canada Council of the Arts)

Brenda Milner (1983)

Alan Evans (2020)


Royal Society of London

Brenda Milner

Michael Petrides

National Academy of Sciences (USA)

Brenda Milner (Foreign Associate)

American Academy of Arts and Science

Brenda Milner

Michael Petrides

American Society for Clinical Investigation

Edward Fon (2015)

Birgit Frauscher (2023)

Michael Prize (International League Against Epilepsy)

Pierre Gloor (1979)

Massimo Avoli (1995)

Boris Bernhardt (2017)

Birgit Frauscher (2019)

Alfred P. Sloan

Peter McPherson (1995-1997)

Christopher Pack (2006-2008)

Stuart Trenholm (2018-2020)

Howard Hughes Medical Institute International Scholar

Eric Shoubridge (2002–2012)

Kavli Prize | Brenda Milner (2014)


Dan David Prize | Brenda Milner (2014)


Balzan Prize | Brenda Milner (2009)


Gairdner Foundation International Award in Health Research

Brenda Milner (2005)

C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Prize for Cognitive Science

Robert Zatorre (2020)

Fondation Pour l’Audition Grand Prix Scientifique

Robert Zatorre (2021)

Glass Brain Award (Organization for Human Brain Mapping)

Alan Evans (2019)

Michael Petrides (2023)


The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam Laureates


The Neuro (Montreal Neurological Institute-Hospital) is a bilingual academic healthcare institution. We are a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering high-quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.



Facebook instagram x, formerly known as twitter linkedIn youtube

Back to top