research and patient care at The Neuro

Our Partners and Ambassadors


Founders Group

  • Promote, support and propel the cause of open science to accelerate discovery and guide The Neuro’s transformative journey to become the first Open Science institute in the world.
  • Broker, foster and nurture relationships to advance The Neuro Open Science.
  • Gather significant resources to support The Neuro’s Open Science vision and full implementation.


Leaders Council

  • Serve as key ambassadors in promoting the mission and goals of Open Science
  • Provide philanthropic support to Open Science
  • Provide insight and oversight to the management, policy setting, and fundraising for institution-wide open science at The Neuro
  • Advise on issues and opportunities in the fields of science, governance, finance, and human resources in a complex transformational environment
  • Evaluate the advancement of this innovative research model, upon monitoring by the Evaluation Committee
  • Assist in the development of philanthropic support by providing counsel on strategies and tactics for cultivating relationships with philanthropists



Dr. Naomi Azrieli, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Azrieli Foundation

Dr. Alan Bernstein, President & CEO of CIFAR

Mr. Jacques Bougie, Chair of the Neuro Advisory Board (ex-officio member)

Dr. Aled Edwards, Founder and CEO, Structural Genomics Consortium

Dr. Rubin Gruber, Entrepreneur and Investor

Mr. Robert Mark Krembil, President, Krembil Foundation

Dr. Frank Litvack, Executive Chairman, Capricor Therapeutics

Mr. Jeff Mallet, Founding President & COO, Director, Yahoo!

Dr. Lisa McKerracher, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, BioAxone

Dr. Heather Munroe-Blum, Chairperson, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board; former Principal and Vice-Chancellor, McGill University (2003-2013); TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Dr. Guy Rouleau (Chair), Director, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

Mr. Larry Tanenbaum, Chairman & CEO, Kilmer Van Nostrand Co. Limited, TOSI Founder, member ex-officio

from left to right:
Jeff Mallet, Frank Litvack, Heather Munroe-Blum, Aled Edwards,
Robert Mark Krembil, Lisa McKerracher, Rubin Gruber, Larry Tanenbaum, Guy Rouleau.

Missing from photo: Naomi Azrieli and Jacques Bougie.


Executive Team

  • Plan and manage the implementation of Open Science at The Neuro
  • Support the Founders Group and Leader Council in all aspects of achieving their mandates

Guy Rouleau

Director, Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital

Annabel Seyller

Chief Operating Officer, Tanenbaum Open Science Institute



TOSI Open Science Grassroots Initiatives Committee

The Committee, chaired by Dr. Sylvain Baillet, will encourage and promote Open Science grassroots initiatives and research practices at The Neuro and beyond for the advancement of knowledge and clinical care, and the welfare of the community.


  • Encourage our researchers to adopt open science practices by promoting and supporting open science principles, tools and resources
  • Keep our Open Science model at the cutting-edge by providing practical and strategic insights on current open science research worldwide
  • Collect our researchers’ needs to adopt open science practices and deliver concrete outcomes in research and education
  • Define top priorities for implementation at The Neuro
  • Report to TOSI’s Executives and Leaders Council.


Dr. Sylvain Baillet, Chair

Dr. Peter McPherson

Dr. Ed Ruthazer

Dr. Madeleine Sharp

Dr. Christine Tardif

Dr. Stuart Trenholm

Dr. Birgit Frauscher

Dr. Adrien Peyrache

Term: 2 years, renewable



Structural Genomics Consortium

Structural Genomics Consortium: The SGC and its scientists are committed to making their research outputs (materials and knowledge) available without restriction on use. This means that the SGC will promptly place its results in the public domain and will agree not to file for patent protection on any of its research outputs. It will seek the same commitment from any research collaborator.


The Neuro logo McGill logoMcGill University Health Centre logoKillam logo

The Neuro is a McGill research and teaching institute; delivering the highest quality patient care, as part of the Neuroscience Mission of the McGill University Health Centre. We are proud to be a Killam Institution, supported by the Killam Trusts.