David Laidley

Honorary Lifetime Member of Desautels International Advisory and Advancement Board
David Laidley



David Laidley is Chairman Emeritus of Deloitte LLP, having retired from Deloitte in 2007 after a distinguished 40‐year career with the firm. While serving as Chairman of Deloitte LLP from 2000 to 2006, he was a member of the Global Board of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, a member of the Governance Committee and Chairman of the Audit and Finance Committee. In 2001, Mr. Laidley was elected a fellow of the Québec Order of Chartered Professional Accountants.

Currently, Mr. Laidley is a member of a number of Boards of Directors including CT REIT, EMCOR Group Inc. and Input Capital Corporation.  He formerly served on the boards of Aimia Inc.(2009-2017), Aviva Canada Inc.(2008-2017), Bank of Canada(2007-2013), Nautilus Indemnity Holdings Limited (Chairman 2008-2013), ProSep Inc.(2009-2012), and on a number of other boards of private institutions and foundations.

Mr. Laidley has been active in a number of business and philanthropic organizations in Montreal. He served as Chairman of the Board of the Royal Victoria Hospital from 1983 to 1991, and as Chairman of the Royal Victoria Hospital Foundation from 1991 to 1999, president of the McGill Alumni Association from 1986 to 1988, and  also served on the board of the McGill University Health Centre from 2012-2017. He also served on the Boards of the Institute of Corporate Directors, The Fraser Institute, and Pearson College of the Pacific. Mr. Laidley joined the McGill Desautels International Advisory Board in June 2002, and served as Chairman from November 2004 to April 2009. He graduated from McGill University in 1967 with a Bachelor of Commerce degree.


Feature articles
Specialization by geographical area: 
Desautels International Advisory and Advancement Board

McGill Desautels International Advisory and Advancement Board

Comprised of highly successful industry leaders from around the globe, who provide regular support and recommendations to our Dean and the Faculty. 

Back to top