assessment.library [at] mcgill.ca (Email)

Assessment resources for McGill Library staff


What is Library Assessment?

Library assessment has as its primary objective the evaluation of the effectiveness of the Library's collections, services, and spaces in meeting the teaching, learning, and research needs of the university-affiliated users and outside researchers.


Assessment Librarian

The Assessment Librarian can provide assistance with:

  • External requests for survey responses
  • Requests for data for departmental accreditation
  • Individual or unit assessment projects
  • Analysis of existing library data
  • Preparation of reports on assessment projects
  • Locating published evidence to support decision making and practice

The Assessment Librarian position is currently vacant. Please direct any queries to assessment.library [at] mcgill.ca.


Library Assessment Advisory Committee

The Library Assessment Advisory Committee, active since May 2013, advises the Assessment Librarian, library administration, and Library Council on the prioritization, planning, and implementation of assessment activities to support evidence-based practice, innovation, and research. Specifically, the Committee’s mandate is to:

  • Make recommendations for the assessment of McGill Library’s collections, services, and facilities.
  • Develop experience and expertise in areas of assessment, including performance assessment, usability/user experience, LibQUAL+ and other service quality surveys, outcomes assessment, measures and statistics, and a variety of methodologies.
  • Provide support as needed for assessment activities conducted by the Assessment Librarian and other library staff.
  • Communicate about assessment activities and findings to appropriate individuals and groups through a variety of channels, including the library assessment website.
  • Foster a culture of assessment and promote assessment activities in the McGill Library.
  • Submit an annual report to the Dean of Libraries.

Annual reports:

Current membership:

  • Edward Bilodeau (August 2017)
  • Robin Desmeules (August 2017)
  • Sara Holder (August 2017)
  • Amber Lannon (ex-officio)
  • Andrea Miller-Nesbitt (August 2016)
  • Rebecca Nicholson (August 2016)
  • Merika Ramundo (ex-officio) (on leave)
  • Robert Selby (August 2017)
  • Deena Yanofsky  (August 2016)

Questions? Ask us!  Chat • Email • Text • Call            Send feedback    Report a problem