Research Chairs

Research Chairs

An indicator of McGill University's high-caliber research activity is its number of research chairs.  These prestigious appointments are divided into the following categories:

1) Canada Research Chairs

2) NSERC Industrial Research Chairs

3) McGill Endowed Chairs

4) William Dawson Scholars

5) James Scholars

These appointments are made to individuals in McGill University's faculty with whom these funding bodies have the utmost confidence.  Their mandate in all cases is to advance the frontier of knowledge within their fields in areas identified as of the most critical concern to industry and/or society.



 Civil Engineering

Electrical & Computer Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Mining & Metallurgical Engineering


Back to top