Warning message

You must login to view this form.

Faculty of Engineering Minor Programs

*for Engineering students only

Minors are coherent sequences of courses taken in addition to the courses required for the B.Eng. or B.Sc.(Arch.) degree. Minors normally consist of 18–24 credits, allowing 6–12 credits of overlap with the degree program (see individual minor program requirements for specific information regarding course overlap). The real credit cost to the student is typically 9–18 credits, representing one term beyond the B.Eng. or B.Sc.(Arch.) degree program. All courses in a minor must be passed with a grade of C or better.

Engineering students choose from a considerable variety of complementary courses under the categories of technical and complementary studies. Students should refer to their department for information concerning selection of complementary courses, and should see their departmental adviser. Departments also publish information regarding the choice of courses in this publication and in separate documents.

Students are also permitted to register for minor concentrations offered by departments in the Faculty of Arts. The Faculty of Engineering allows up to 9 credits of overlap with the degree program for Engineering students taking Arts minor concentrations.

For specific information about Minor programs for Engineering students, please refer to the Undergraduate Program eCalendar.

Minor Program Advisors:

Minor title Advisor Email
Aerospace Prof. Pascal Hubert pascal.hubert [at] mcgill.ca
Artificial intelligence Prof. François Bouffard francois.bouffard [at] mcgill.ca
Arts MESC advisor.engineering [at] mcgill.ca
Biomedical Engineering Prof. R. Leask, Prof. R. Mongrain, or Prof. G. Mitsis richard.leask [at] mcgill.ca
rosaire.mongrain [at] mcgill.ca
georgios.mitsis [at] mcgill.ca
Biotechnology MESC; For advising regarding Science courses, contact Undergraduate Adviser, Department of Biology, Faculty of Science(email: TBA) advisor.engineering [at] mcgill.ca
Chemistry Dr. Samuel Sewall samuel.sewall [at] mcgill.ca
Computer Science Courses and Minor Program Please refer to this weblink for more information  
Construction Engineering and Management Prof. Yixin Shao yixin.shao [at] mcgill.ca
Economics MESC advisor.engineering [at] mcgill.ca
Environment Kathy Roulet kathy.roulet [at] mcgill.ca
Environmental Engineering Prof. D. Frigon dominic.frigon [at] mcgill.ca
Materials Engineering Prof. Richard Chromik richard.chromik [at] mcgill.ca
Mathematics Dr. Djivede Armel Kelome djivede.kelome [at] mcgill.ca
Mining Engineering Prof. Mustafa Kumral mustafa.kumral [at] mcgill.ca
Finance, Management, Marketing and Operations Management Angela Blasi angela.blasi [at] mcgill.ca
Musical Science and Technology Department of Music Research research.music [at] mcgill.ca
Nanotechnology Prof. N. Tufenkji nathalie.tufenkji [at] mcgill.ca
Physics Head Adviser, Department of Physics undergraduate.advisor [at] physics.mcgill.ca
Software Engineering Prof. François Bouffard francois.bouffard [at] mcgill.ca
Technological Entrepreneurship MESC advisor.engineering [at] mcgill.ca

Please note:

A minor can only be declared after your first full year of study; and you cannot add a minor to your record in your final term of graduation, unless you already have a completed the majority of courses pertaining to that minor.

Once your request has been submitted through this webform, please allow for ~48-72 hours for approval and processing. You will NOT be notified by email, you are advised to keep checking your MINERVA student transcript. *If you are submitting a request for the next academic year, the minor will only reflect on your record once registration opens and you have registered for courses.


Registration Form

Back to top