More from Department news


Professor Shane McIntosh a "Rising Star" among Software Engineering Scholars

A recent study, “A bibliometric assessment of software engineering scholars and institutions (2010–2017)” has recognized Professor Shane McIntosh as a “Rising Star”, ranking him second for the 2015-2017 period, as well as among the top in terms of overall activity, journal activity and impact score (citations per paper per month). The full study can be found at

Published: 20 Nov 2018

PhD Candidate Farhad Shokraneh receives Best Paper Award at ACP 2018

Congratulations to PhD candidate Farhad Shokraneh for receiving the Best Paper Award at the Asia Communications and Photonics Conference in October 2018. The paper, entitled “A 4x4 Reconfigurable Optical Processor” is co-authored by Mr. Shokraneh’s supervisor, Professor Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur, and Reza Nezami, Ph.D., and are the latest results of a project funded by the FRQNT Équipe programme “Accélérateur Photonique Embarqué pour Algorithmes d’Apprentissage Profond”.

Published: 9 Nov 2018

New ECE Professor to Receive the IMBE Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to Professor Songrui Zhao, who joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering as an Assistant Professor in August 2018.  He will be presented with the International Molecular Beam Epitaxy (IMBE) Young Investigator Award at the International conference on Molecular Beam Expitaxy, to be held in Shanghai (China) September 2-7, 2018.  The award criteria are scientific excellence and relevance of the work to molecular beam expitaxy conducted by researchers u

Published: 16 Aug 2018

ECE Outstanding Emerging Researcher Honoured by Principal

May 30, 2018:  Professor Odile Liboiron-Ladouceur: Paving the way for future experts in the computing industry. 

Published: 11 Jun 2018

McGill Student Jonathan Bouchard Receives Honorable Mention

McGill PhD student Jonathan Bouchard (supervised by Professor Jim Clark) was awarded an “Honorable Mention” for the best Student Paper Award for our paper “Quality Control of Stereoscopic 3-D Compositing Using Half-Occlusion Geometry” published  in the Motion Imaging Journal, awarded by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) in October 2017.  Congratulations Jonathan!

Published: 17 Jan 2018

McGill Paper Wins Lumiere Prize

Congratulations to Jonathan Bouchard, McGill PhD student and his supervisor Professor James Clark.  Their paper “Half-Occluded Regions: The Key to Detecting a Diverse Array of Defects in S3D Imagery” won the best paper prize at the IC3D 2017 Conference in December 2017, and was awarded the Lumiere Prize at the Conference Gala.

Published: 17 Jan 2018

Professor David Plant Receives Engineering Achievement Award

The IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award is given to recognize an exceptional engineering contribution which has had a significant impact on the development of laser or electro-optic technology or the commercial application of technology within the past 10 years. It may be given to an individual or to a group for a single contribution of significant work in the field. No candidate shall have previously received a major IEEE award for the same work.

Published: 24 Nov 2017

McGill University’s James Clark and The Palais des congrès de Montréal bring a major AI conference to the city

Thanks to the hard work and determination of James J.

Published: 24 Nov 2017

Tal Arbel Challenges Gender Stereotypes

Tal Arbel - pioneering researcher challenges gender stereotypes, as reported by the McGill Reporter

Published: 18 Nov 2017

Prof. Szkopek's R&D Used by Montreal Start-up

Ora Sound, a Montreal-based startup, is using R&D work done by Prof. Thomas Szkopek as reported by IEEE Spectrum.

Published: 21 Jun 2017

Meet ECE's 2017 Banting Fellow

Reza Maram Qartavol (PhD)

Preventing the computation energy crisis through sustainable optics

Published: 20 Jun 2017

Meet ECE's 2017 Vanier Scholar

Marco Kassis

Parallel Time-Domain Analysis of Reduced Order Power Delivery Networks

Published: 20 Jun 2017

Best Presentation Award - Srinivas Vanka

Congratulations to Mr. Srinivas Vanka, Ph.D. Student under the supervision of Professor Ishiang Shih (and former ECE Professor Zetian Mi) who was awarded the Best Presentation Award at Symposium NM7—Semiconductor Nanowires for Energy Applications for his presentation titled "An InGaN Nanowire/Si Tandem Photoanode for High‐Efficiency Photoelectrochemical Water Splitting". 

Published: 26 Apr 2017

Prof. Lawrence Chen will serve as Academic Lead of eLATE

Prof. Lawrence Chen has agreed to serve as the first Academic Lead of the eLATE (enhancing learning and teaching in Engineering) initiative.  Prof. Chen will work in collaboration with academic staff and the Pedagogical Coordinator towards meeting the initiative’s objectives, bringing the perspective of a faculty member.

Published: 6 Mar 2017

ECE Student Sharif Sadaf's work featured in magazine Semiconductor Today

Work by Sharif Sadaf, Yong-Ho Ra, Prof. Thomas Szkopek, and Prof. Zetian Mi on Al-tunnel junction visible nanowire LED has been featured in the magazine Semiconductor Today.

Published: 4 Nov 2016