Senate Committee on Physical Development


MEMBERSHIP (2023-2024)

Associate Vice-President (Facilities Management and Ancillary Services, Chair, ex officio Denis Mondou
Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic), or delegate, ex officio Leigh Yetter, Senior Director, Strategy and Operations) (delegate)
Associate Vice-President (Macdonald Campus), ex officio Professor Petra Rohrbach (interim)
Director of the Gault Nature Reserve, ex officio Maria Babiak (Gault Executive Committee Member)
Trenholme Dean of Libraries, ex officio Professor Guylaine Beaudry
Executive Director of Sustainability Francois Miller

Eight representatives of Senate

Professor Nik Luka (Architecture/Urban Planning, ENGINEERING) - 2024
Professor Judith Mandl (Physiology, FMHS) - 2024
Youssef Chebli (Acting Building Director, AES) – 2024
Professor Irah King (Microbiology and Immunology, FMHS) - 2025
Professor Jeffrey McKenzie (Earth and Planetary Sciences, SCIENCE) - 2025
Professor Michael Hendricks (Biology, SCIENCE) - 2025
Professor Richard Leask (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2026
Professor Alvin Shrier (Physiology, FMHS) - 2026
Two Undergraduate Students Jon Barlas (Arts/Science)
Hassanatou Koulibaly (Arts/Science)
One Graduate Student TBD
One Macdonald Campus Student Vaishnavi Parey
Secretary Adam Dudeck

Terms of Reference


To advise on the University’s physical development in terms of its impact on the University’s academic mission and strategic academic priorities.

Specific Areas of Responsibility

The Committee shall:

  1. Review, with respect to the University’s academic mission, the long-term physical development needs of the University.
  2. Receive and review reports on the status of planned and ongoing major physical development initiatives impacting the University’s academic mission.
  3. Receive and consider reports on faculty, student and academic staff concerns and priorities related to campus planning and physical development.
  4. Appoint subcommittees and workgroups that may assist the Committee in carrying out its mandate, and to dissolve them as necessary.
  5. Receive and consider reports on the use, for academic purposes, of facilities, including those not located on the main campuses, and to receive and review reports on such facilities and provide input and comment, whenever necessary, to the Associate Vice-Principal (Facilities Management and Ancillary Services).
  6. Report on the Committee’s activities to Senate, at least once a year, and submit said report, on behalf of Senate, to the Board of Governors’ Building and Property Committee.
  7. The Committee shall meet at least four times per year.


  • The Associate Vice-President (Facilities Management and Ancillary Services) Chair
  • The Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic) or delegate
  • The Associate Vice-President (Macdonald Campus)
  • The Director of the Gault Nature Reserve
  • The Trenholme Director of Libraries or delegate
  • The Executive Director (Office of Sustainability)
  • Eight representatives of Senate, approved by Senate on the recommendation of Senate Nominating Committee
  • Two undergraduate students
  • One graduate student
  • One student representative of Macdonald Campus
  • 2 resource persons appointed by the Chair of the Committee
  • 1 secretary appointed by the Chair of the Committee


A quorum for the purpose of any meeting shall be a majority of members of the Committee

Sources: Senate Minute 90, March 21, 1973
Senate Minute 49, November 27, 1974
Amendments: Senate Minute 14, September 30, 1992
Senate Minute 30, November 4, 1992
Senate Minute 21, October 12, 1994
Senate Minute 118, May 3, 1995
Senate Minute 120, May 15, 1996
Senate Minute 9, October 9, 1996
Senate Minute 10, November 5, 1997
Senate Minute 7, May 20, 1998
Senate Minute 6, March 8, 2000
Senate Minute 8, May 10, 2000
Senate Minute 6, May 24, 2001
Senate Minute 10, October 10, 2001
Senate Minute 12, March 13, 2002
Senate Minute 7, May 14, 2003
Senate Minute 10, March 17, 2004
Senate Minute 7, March 8, 2006
Senate Minute 10, May 24, 2006
Senate Minute 9, October 11, 2006
Senate Minute IIB4.2, May 20, 2009
Senate Minute IIB2, October 25, 2017
Senate Minute IIB1, November 16, 2022
Back to top