Senate Steering Committee


MEMBERSHIP (2023-2024)

President and Vice-Chancellor, ex officio Professor Deep Saini
Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic), ex officio Professor Christopher Manfredi
One Faculty Dean, ex officio Professor Elham Emami

Five members from among the elected academic
or administrative and support staff members of Senate

Professor Angela Campbell (LAW) - 2024
Mr. Marc Richard (LIBRARIES) - 2024
Professor Laura Nilson (SCIENCE) - 2025
Professor Lara Khoury (LAW) - 2025
Professor Derek Nystrom (ARTS) - 2025
One Undergraduate Student Lalia Katchelewa
One Graduate Student Satish Kumar Tumulu
Secretary Ms. Edyta Rogowska, Secretary-General

Terms of Reference


The Senate Steering Committee is a Standing Committee of Senate charged with proposing the Senate agenda and carrying out routine business matters, as described below.


The Committee shall:

a. Meet approximately one week prior to every Senate meeting.
b. Submit a written report to Senate at each meeting on all actions taken by the Committee.
c. Develop guidelines, as necessary, for the purpose of operationalizing its mandate.


Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the Committee shall perform functions subject to the authority of Senate and functions delegated by Senate, as follows:

3.1 Functions subject to the authority of Senate

The Committee shall recommend to Senate for approval:

a. The Senate agenda following review of the draft developed by the Secretary-General.

b. Items related to the development of the agenda and the Senate meeting, including:

- Assignment of speaking rights;
- Assigned items for confidential session and committee of the whole;
- Time allotted for discussion of agenda items;
- Appointments of Acting Chairs for Senate meetings;
- Other items of relevance to the conduct of Senate meetings.

c. The minutes of the last Senate meeting.

3.2 Functions delegated to the Committee by Senate

The Committee shall:

a. Review the Senate calendar of business including any follow up on matters arising from decisions and discussion at Senate. The Secretary-General or the Committee Chair shall provide a verbal report to the Steering Committee on follow-up from Senate decisions/discussion at each meeting.

b. Approve confidential minutes of Senate.

c. Solicit open discussion topics from Senators through the Secretariat. The Committee may select the open discussion topic(s) for the governance year and may task a working group with the preparation of appropriate background materials for the open discussion.

d. Review written questions and motions submitted for the Senate Question and Motion Period and determine their suitability for consideration by Senate bearing in mind Section 9 of the Senate Standing Rules of Procedure addressing the Question and Motion Period and the Guidelines for the Review of Questions and Motions.

e. Formally approve the granting of degrees, diplomas and certificates conferred by McGill University (not including honorary degrees).


The Committee shall be composed of ten members, as follows:

  • The President and Vice-Chancellor, Chair (ex officio)
  • The Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic) or delegate (ex officio)
  • One Dean selected on the recommendation of the Provost (ex officio)
  • Five members from among the elected academic or administrative and support staff members of Senate, nominated and elected by all members of Senate, other than student members
  • Two student members of Senate (one undergraduate and one graduate), nominated and elected by student members of Senate

The Secretary-General shall serve as secretary to the Committee.


Senate Minute 11, September 30, 1987
Amendments: Senate Minute 5, September 16, 1993
Senate Minute 120, May 15, 1996
Senate Minute 6, May 21, 1997
Senate Minute 6, November 10, 1999
Senate Minute IIB4.2, May 20, 2009
Senate Minute IIB 6.1.2, May 15, 2013
Senate Minute IIB5, November 20, 2013
Senate Minute IIB3, March 18, 2015
Senate Minute IIB3, February 24, 2021
Back to top