Senate Nominating Committee


MEMBERSHIP (2023-2024)

President and Executive Vice-Chancellor, Chair, ex officio Professor Deep Saini
Provost and Vice-President (Academic), ex officio Professor Christopher Manfredi
Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, ex officio Professor Josephine Nalbantoglu
Associate Vice-President (Macdonald Campus), ex officio Professor Petra Rohrbach (interim)
Dean of Medicine and Health Sciences Professor Lesley Fellows
Dean of Science Professor Bruce Lennox
Dean of Arts Professor Lisa Shapiro
Dean of Education Professor Victoria Talwar (interim)
Dean of Music Professor Sean Ferguson

Ten members from among the elected academic or
administrative and support staff members of Senate

Professor Angela Campbell (LAW) - 2024
Margaret Levey (CONTINUING STUDIES) - 2025
Professor Nate Quitoriano (Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2025
Professor Juliet Johnson (Political Science, ARTS) - 2025
Bonnie Borenstein (GROUP 1) - 2025
Professor Eleanor Elstein (Medicine, FMHS) - 2026
Professor David Stephens (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE) - 2026
Professor Josée Bonneau (Ingram School of Nursing, FMHS) - 2026
Cheryl Smeall (GROUP 2) - 2026
Svetlana Kochkina (LIBRARIES) - 2026
One Undergraduate Student Juliet Morrison (Arts)
One Graduate Student Racchana Ramamurthy 
Secretary Edyta Rogowska, Secretary-General

Terms of Reference

The Senate Nominating Committee is a Standing Committee of Senate charged with recommending to Senate committee membership and committee terms of reference.

Specific Areas of Responsibility

The Committee shall:

  1. Review the terms of reference of all Senate committees and recommend revisions, the dissolution, or creation of new committees;
  2. Review and recommend to Senate the membership of all its committees;
  3. Recommend to Senate its representatives on all other University committees requiring such representation;
  4. Receive and recommend for approval the creation of special committees charged with specific consideration of issues under Senate’s mandate. Such committees shall have a specific mandate and deadline for providing recommendations to Senate and shall not be Standing Committees of Senate;
  5. Meet at least three times per semester in the academic year.


President and Vice-Chancellor (Chair), ex officio
Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic), ex officio
The Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, ex officio
The Associate Vice-President (Macdonald Campus), ex officio
Five Deans selected on the recommendation of the Provost
Ten members from among the elected academic or administrative and support staff members of Senate, nominated and elected by all members of Senate, other than student members
Two student members of Senate (one undergraduate and one graduate), nominated and elected by student members of Senate
Committee Secretary (Secretary General)

Source: Senate Minute 11, September 30, 1987
Amendments: Senate Minute 10, September 25, 1991
Senate Minute 8, September 22, 1993
Senate Minute 120, May 15, 1996
Senate Minute 6, May 21, 1997
Senate Minute 6, November 10, 1999
Senate Minute 12, March 13, 2002
Senate Minute IIB4.2, May 20, 2009
Senate Minute IIB 6.12, May 15, 2013
Senate Minute IIB5, November 20, 2013
Back to top