Committee on Student Discipline

Extract from the Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures:

22 Committee on Student Discipline (CSD)

(a) The members of the CSD shall be appointed by Senate for staggered renewable three-year terms, with the exception of student members who shall be appointed on a one-year basis, renewable twice. All terms shall be effective 1 September. Membership shall consist of:

(i) a Chair, selected from the academic staff;
(ii) two or more Vice-Chairs, selected from the academic staff;
(iii) eight other members of the academic staff;
(iv) twelve students approved by Senate, five selected by the Students’ Society of McGill University, three by the Post-Graduate Students’ Society, two by the McGill Association of Continuing Education Students, and two by the Macdonald Campus Students’ Society;
(v) three or more Legal Assessors;*
(vi) the Dean and Associate Dean of Students.

(b) Members of the CSD will attend training and information sessions at least once per academic year; the Office of the Dean of Students will coordinate such programming.

*“Legal Assessor” means a member of the staff of the University who holds a law degree, appointed by Senate, whose role is to advise the CSD or the Appeal Committee as to the conduct of proceedings (as per article 1(l) of the Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures)

[Please refer to the "Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures" for further details.]

Membership (3-year renewable terms)

The Dean of Students – Professor Christopher Buddle
The Associate Dean of Students - Mr. Glenn Zabowski

Chair: Professor Richard Leask (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2021
Vice-Chair: Professor Michael Hendricks (Biology, SCIENCE) - 2020

Eight members of the academic staff:
  Professor Heather Goad (Linguistics, ARTS) – 2019

  Professor Brett Meyer (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2019
  Professor Gonzalo Cosa (Chemistry, SCIENCE) – 2019
  Professor David Ragsdale (Neurology, MEDICINE) - 2019

  Professor Hamid Etemad (MANAGEMENT) - 2020
  Professor Antonia Arnaert (Nursing, MEDICINE) - 2021
  Ms. Kathy Roulet (School of Environment, FAES) - 2021
  Professor Jason Carmichael (Sociology, ARTS) - 2021

Three or more legal assessors:
  Ms. Didem Dogar - 2020
  Professor Richard Janda - 2021

Five SSMU representatives:
  Ms. Caitlin Mehrota (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, MEDICINE)
  Mr. Husayn Jamal (Joint Honours Political Science and International Development, ARTS)
  Ms. Rebecca Scarra (Sociology and Gender Studies, ARTS)
  Ms. Linda Muhugusa Murhimanya (LAW)
  Mr. Sébastien Oudin-Filipecki (Political Science with minor in Psychology, ARTS)

Three PGSS representatives:
  Mr. Dakota Rogers (Physiology, MEDICINE)
  Ms. Oana Stefanescu (LAW)
  Ms. Kristi Kouchakji (Art History and Communication Studies, ARTS)

Two MCSS representatives:
  Mr. Austin Rikley-Krindle (School of Environment) 
  Ms. An Bui (Life Sciences)

Two MACES representatives:
  Mr. Rod Louisa 
  Ms. Lana Kobeici

Secretary: Mr. Dylan Bertus