Appeal Committee for Student Discipline and Grievances


MEMBERSHIP (2023-2024)

Nine members of the Academic Staff

Professor Jaswinder Singh (Plant Science, AES) - 2024
Professor Karine Auclair (Chemistry, SCIENCE) - 2024
Professor Ada Sinacore (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) -2024
Professor Stefano Algieri (Music Performance, MUSIC) - 2024
Professor Melissa Vollrath (Physiology, FMHS) - 2025 (Chair)
Professor Jasmin Kaur Chahal (Microbiology and Immunology, FMHS) - 2025
Professor Gabriel Venne (Anatomy and Cell Biology, FMHS) - 2026
Professor Mustafa Kumral (Mining Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2026
Professor Brian Lewis (History and Classical Studies, ARTS) - 2026
One Legal Assessor Brittany Williams (LAW) - 2026
Three Undergraduate Students Sophia Garofalo (Arts)
Juliet Morrison (Arts)
Three Graduate Students Niko Coady (Educational Psychology)
Shar-Lee E. Amori (Urban Planning)
Secretary Ms. Catherine Charlton

Extract from the Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures

24 Appeal Committee

(a) The members of the Appeal Committee shall be appointed by Senate for staggered renewable three-year terms, with the exception of student members who shall be appointed on a one-year basis, renewable twice. All terms shall be effective 1 September. Membership shall consist of:

(i) a Chair, selected from the academic staff;

(ii) eight other members of the academic staff;

(iii) six students (three graduate and three undergraduate);

(b) Two Legal Assessors shall be appointed as non-voting members of the Committee. The Legal Assessors for the Committee on Student Discipline, the Committee on Student Grievances and the Appeal Committee for Student Discipline and Grievances shall serve in the capacity of Legal Assessor, on any of the three committees. The Legal Assessor serving on an appeal committee shall in no instance be the same individual who served as a Legal Assessor for the Committee on Student Discipline.

(c) As much as possible, members shall be drawn from different faculties with a view to strive for diversity of membership.

(d) Committee members shall stay on past the end of their terms in order to complete a case where a hearing has begun or proceeded before then.

[Please refer to the "Code of Student Grievance Procedures" and to the "Code of Student Conduct and Disciplinary Procedures" for further details.]

Back to top