Statutory Selection Committees

Excerpt from the McGill University Statutes:
3.4.3 Before recommending an appointment to the rank of full professor or full librarian, the Principal must first have consulted a committee consisting of two governors selected by the Chair of the Board, two vice-principals, the dean of any faculty in which the appointment is to be made, or, in the case of appointment to the rank of full librarian, the Director of Libraries, and two members selected by the Senate; and such other members as the Principal may see fit.

Senate Slates for SSCs

(Appointments to the Senate Slates are for 3-years; terms end August 31st of the years indicated below)


Hosahalli Ramaswamy (Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry, FAES)
Luis Agellon (Dietetics and Human Nutrition, FAES)
Grace Fong (East Asian Studies, ARTS)
T.V. Paul (Political Science, ARTS)
Dietlind Stolle (Political Science, ARTS)
Francisco Ruge-Murcia (Economics, ARTS)
Jacob Burack (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION)
Susanne Lajoie (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION)
Alberto Perez-Gomez (Architecture, ENGINEERING)
Patrick Selvadurai (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics, ENGINEERING)
Ferri Hassani (Mining and Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING)
Ronald Niezen (LAW)
Reuven Brenner (MANAGEMENT)
Laurette Dubé (MANAGEMENT)
Shanling Li (MANAGEMENT)
Henry Mintzberg (MANAGEMENT)
Terence Coderre (MEDICINE)
Christo Tchervenkov (MEDICINE)
Jay Kaufman (MEDICINE)
Chantal Autexier (MEDICINE)
Marina Klein (MEDICINE)
William Caplin (Music Research, MUSIC)
John Rea (Music Research, MUSIC)
Kevin Dean (Performance, MUSIC)
Felicia Moye (Performance, MUSIC)
Eyal Goren (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE)
Charles Gale (Physics, SCIENCE)
Tim Moore (Geography, SCIENCE)


Linda Wykes (Dietetics and Human Nutrition, FAES) – 2019
Varoujan Yaylayan (Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry, FAES) – 2019
Marilyn Scott (Parasitology, FAES) – 2019
Marc McKee (DENTISTRY) – 2019
Nancy Heath (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) – 2019
Roy Lyster (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) – 2019
Claudia Mitchell (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) – 2019
Annmarie Adams (Architecture, ENGINEERING and Social Studies of Medicine, MEDICINE) – 2019
Marco Amabili (Mechanical Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2019
Richard Gold (LAW) – 2019
Catherine Walsh (LAW) – 2019
Andrew Mouland (Department of Medicine, MEDICINE) – 2019
Pierre Pluye (Family Medicine, MEDICINE) – 2019
Kyoko Hashimoto (Performance, MUSIC) – 2019
Marcelo Wanderley (Music Research, MUSIC) – 2019
Lauren Chapman (Biology, SCIENCE) – 2019
Nancy Ross (Geography, SCIENCE) – 2019
Hanadi Sleiman (Chemistry, SCIENCE) – 2019


Joann Whalen (Natural Resource Sciences, FAES) - 2020
Xin Zhao (Animal Science, FAES) -2020

Isabelle Daunais (French Language & Literature, ARTS) - 2020
John Zucchi (History and Classical Studies, ARTS) - 2020
Karin Bauer (Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, ARTS) - 2020
Allan Hepburn (English, ARTS) - 2020
Luda Diatchenko (DENTISTRY) - 2020
Maryam Tabrizian (DENTISTRY) - 2020
Jeffrey Derevensky (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) -2020
Ross Andersen (Kinesiology and Physical Education, EDUCATION) -2020
Ratna Ghosh (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) - 2020
Nathalie Tufenkji (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2020
Warren Gross (Electrical & Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2020
Sasha Omanovic (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2020
Johanne Poirier (LAW) -2020
Robert David (MANAGEMENT) -2020
Anthony Masi (MANAGEMENT) -2020
Alain Pinsonneault (MANAGEMENT) -2020
Nancy Adler (MANAGEMENT) -2020
Mary Stevenson (Microbiology and Immunology, MEDICINE) -2020
Lucy Gilbert (Obstetrics and Gynecology, MEDICINE) - 2020
Wieslaw Woszczyk (Music Research, MUSIC) - 2020
David Brackett (Music Research, MUSIC) - 2020 
Bruce Shepherd (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE) - 2020
Ashok Kakkar (Chemistry, SCIENCE) - 2020


New Members as of September 1, 2018:

Alenoush Saroyan (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) - 2020

John F. Hayes (Animal Science, FAES) - 2021
Philippe Seguin (Plant Science, FAES) - 2021
Andrea Tone (History and Classical Studies, ARTS/Social Studies of Medicine, MEDICINE) - 2021
Christine Ross (Art History and Communication Studies, ARTS) - 2021
Jean-Marie Dufour (Economics, ARTS) - 2021
Rex Brynen (Political Science, ARTS) - 2021
Dieter Reinhardt (DENTISTRY) - 2021
Lynn Butler-Kisber (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) - 2021
Luc Mongeau (Mechanical Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2021
Tal Arbel (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2021
Vincent Chu (Civil Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2021
Shauna Van Praagh (LAW) - 2021
Henry Mintzberg (MANAGEMENT) - 2021
Laurette Dubé (MANAGEMENT) - 2021
Reuven Brenner (MANAGEMENT) - 2021
Shanling Li (MANAGEMENT) - 2021
Danuta Radzioch (Medicine, MEDICINE) - 2021
René Michel (Pathology, MEDICINE) - 2021
Salah El Mestikawy (Psychiatry, MEDICINE) - 2021
Yvonne Steinert (Family Medicine, MEDICINE) - 2021
Brian Cherney (Music Research, MUSIC) - 2021
Steven Huebner (Music Research, MUSIC) - 2021
Peter Schubert (Music Research, MUSIC) - 2021
Bärbel Knäuper (Psychology, SCIENCE) - 2021
Christian Genest (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE) - 2021
Debra Titone (Psychology, SCIENCE) - 2021
Pengfei Guan (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE) - 2021