Quick Links

award news

McGill Startup Team Selected as One of the Ten Incredible Semi-finalists for the 2016 Skolar Award

Co-founders of the start-up ACSYNAM, Inc., a spin-off venture from the McGill University Department of Chemistry, have been selected as one of the ten incredible semi-finalists to compete for a €100,000 prize in the 2016 Skolar Award competition. Dr. Cristina Mottillo, post-doctoral researcher and CSO of ACSYNAM, Inc., will be representing the team by presenting a three-minute science pitch to a panel of judges and an audience from non-scientific backgrounds.

Category :
Published on : 26 Nov 2016

Newly created Jean Béliveau Award recognizes achievements and community leadership of McGill athletes

A new athletic financial award -- known as the Jean Béliveau Award -- has been established at McGill University to recognize outstanding student-athletes and honour the memory of the legendary Montreal Canadiens captain and inspirational community leader.

Published on : 23 Nov 2016

Animal Science Professor honoured by American Dairy Science Association

  Congratulations to James McGill Professor Xin Zhao who received the 2016 West Agro Inc. Award from the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA). The award is given to one individual each year "to recognize outstanding research of milk quality as affected by control of mastitis, management of milking, and practices in production of milk." The award was presented at a ceremony during the annual meeting of the ADSA in Salt Lake City,  Utah.    

Published on : 25 Jul 2016

Dr. Manish K. Mishra is a finalist for the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize

We would like to congratulate Dr. Manish K. Mishra, currently working in the Department of Chemistry as a Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Robin Rogers, who has been selected to be among the 45 finalists for the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize. The Reaxys PhD Prize is open to students currently in a PhD program or who recently completed their PhD, with emphasis on the areas of synthetic chemistry (e.g., organic, inorganic, organometallic, coordination, medical, materials, and polymer chemistry).

Category :
Published on : 30 Jun 2016

$2.4M from NSERC for five McGill researchers

By Katherine Gombay, McGill Newsroom McGill is proud to announce that five researchers have been awarded over $2.4 million in NSERC Strategic Partnership Grants for 2016.

Published on : 01 Mar 2016

Beautiful images of erbium hydroxide microflowers, Er2CO3(OH)2

As part of a collaboration between the Butler group in Department of Chemistry and the Kozinskli group in the Department of Mining and Materials Engineering at McGill, Dr. Hassane Assaaoudi has investigated the effects of temperature, pressure, pH, residence time and reactant concentrations, as well as the presence or absence of CO2, on the size and morphology of erbium hydroxide particles synthesized in a hydrothermal batch reactor and a diamond-anvil cell reactor.

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award, image
Category :
Published on : 17 Feb 2016

PhD student Yasser Gidi wins the 2016 NSERC Gilles Brassard Prize

Yasser Gidi from the Cosa group received in February 16th the NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research. He has developed a novel single-molecule platform that makes it possible to observe and study proteins that allow life-threatening viruses such as hepatitis C and HIV to reproduce, often mutating into forms that are resistant to known drug therapies. Gidi is effectively creating "movies" of individual biological machines in action, with the goal of understanding how the viruses reproduce and how they respond to drugs.

Category :
Published on : 16 Feb 2016

Prof. Audrey Moores receives a 2016 CNC-IUPAC travel award

The CNC-IUPAC award is given every year to 4 young chemists in Canada to attend an IUPAC conference. Audrey Moores will be attended the 6th International IUPAC Conference on Green Chemistry taking place in Venice, Italy, in September 2016. This conference is unique in that, in addition to its research focus, society stakeholders, entrepreneurs and educational bodies actively participate in the event and contribute.  2016 CNC-IUPAC travel awardees

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award
Category :
Published on : 27 Jan 2016

Quebec ecology student scoops trio of BES photo prizes

PhD candidate Kiyoko Gotanda captured the award-winning photos on her Canon 7D Mark II camera while on a research trip to Santa Cruz Island in the Galápagos in January 2015. The Galápagos Islands inspired Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution almost 150 years ago and have since been crucial to evolutionary biology, including to Gotanda’s own research on Darwin’s Galápagos finches. 

Category :
Published on : 14 Dec 2015

Dr. Ada Sinacore receives CPA Counselling Psychology Section Distinguished Member Award

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Ada Sinacore, of the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, is the 2015 recipient of the CPA Counselling Psychology Section Distinguished Member Award. This award was officially bestowed at the recent annual convention of the Canadian Psychological Association. This award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the field of counselling psychology.

Published on : 09 Jun 2015

McGill Chemistry team second prize at the 2015 Dobson Cup

On May 14th 2015, E-Innovation, a team all composed of McGill Chemistry staff and students, was awarded the second place of the 2015 McGill Dobson Cup Start-UP Competition for entrepreneurs in the Innovation Driven Track. The co-founders of E-Innovation are Prof. Janine Mauzeroll, Laurence Danis, Dr. Tomer Noyhouzer, Dr. Michael E. Snowden and Dr. Ushula M. Tefashe.  The team would like to thank once again their mentors Marc St-Arnaud, Gregory Kalinin and Pr.

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award
Category :
Published on : 15 May 2015

Prof. Tomislav Friscic is McGill’s newest William Dawson Scholar

The William Dawson Scholar award recognizes a scholar developing into an outstanding and original researcher of world-class caliber who is poised to become a leader in his or her field, similar to that of a CRC Tier 2. The Department of Chemistry is proud to host the 2015 Scholar. Congratulations Tomislav Friscic.

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award
Category :
Published on : 22 Mar 2015

Prof. Gonzalo Cosa Keith Laidler Award winner

Congratulations to Gonzalo Cosa, who is this year’s Keith Laidler Award winner.  The award will be presented to him by the Canadian Society for Chemistry, in Ottawa, June 13-17, 2015.    Sponsored by the CIC Physical, Theoretical and Computation Chemistry Division, the Keith Laidler Award is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of physical chemistry while working in Canada, recognizing early achievement in his/her independent research career.

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award
Category :
Published on : 15 Jan 2015

Prof. Dmytro Perepichka, winner of the 2015 Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry

Sponsored by the Materials Chemistry Division, the Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to materials chemistry while working in Canada. The award will be presented to him during the 98th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition, which is taking place in Ottawa, June 13-17, 2015.

Classified as : Staff, Faculty, External, Students, award
Category :
Published on : 14 Jan 2015