Principal’s prize for public engagement through media

Every year,  McGill University awards prizes for the dissemination and popularization of research through media or through public engagement. The announcement of the winners takes place during the Bravo gala, an event where the University celebrates the excellence of its top scholars and researchers.

In creating this prize, Principal and Vice-Chancellor Suzanne Fortier wishes to recognize the efforts made by professors, post-doctoral fellows, research associates and graduate students who go beyond their studies and research to engage with the media or the public. By sharing the results of their research as well as their expertise with a broader audience, they extend the reach and influence of their scholarship and support McGill’s commitment to engage with the wider community.

2017 awardees

Two prizes will be awarded each year: one to a professor, the other to a graduate student, research associate or post-doctoral fellow. Each winner will receive a cheque for $5,000.

The deadline for nominations for the 2017 prize is January 31, 2018

The guidelines for nominating someone for the award are as follows:

  • Examples of 5-10 instances of media or public engagement between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017. Examples of media presence include, but are not limited to, a presence in news articles, vlogs, blogs, YouTube videos, online discussions, opinion pieces, and in interviews in print, radio or television, and podcasts.

  • Engagement and social media presence to promote research and debate, and/or to share expertise is also valued.

  • Applications for graduate students, research associates and post-doctoral fellows must include a letter of support (one page) from a faculty member (usually from their supervisor). Up to two additional letters from faculty, staff and/or graduate students in support of the nomination will be accepted.

  • Professors who are applying for the award must have a letter of support from their Dean.  

  • There is no limit to the number of candidates each faculty may put forward. 

The selection committee will include the Vice-Principal (Communications and External Relations or delegate - Chair), the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation or delegate), the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies or delegate, and a representative from the Post Graduate Students’ Society.

Winners of the award are not eligible for re-nomination for a period three years. The $5,000 award is subject to taxation.

Download the nomination form for grad students, research associates or post-doctoral fellows:

Nomination form for grad student

Download the nomination form for professors:

Nomination form for professor