Strategic Research Plan


Shaping the future of McGill research


English version:

La version française


At its meeting of December 14, 2017, the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors, on the recommendation of the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation), endorsed the extension of the McGill Strategic Research Plan until December 31, 2018. 

The SRP document was officially endorsed by McGill's Senate in November 2012 and by the Board of Govenors in February 2013. Researchers and administrators can now use the complete version (or the five-page summary) of the SRP as required. Thank you to everyone who contributed to the process. 


Reflection of our community

During the extensive Strategic Research Plan consultation process, former Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) Rosie Goldstein met with a wide range of McGill faculty, students, staff, and external partners to discuss their research goals, challenges, and priorities for the coming years.

Groups that provided input include: the SRP Advisory Committee, the Research Advisory Council, student associations, various focus groups, established and early career researchers, and a panel of external advisers. Members of the greater McGill community also had the opportunity to share their feedback via this website and at several large open forums. Consultations for the SRP were also coordinated with those for ASAP 2012: Achieving Strategic Research Priorities, ensuring that priority areas are aligned across both plans.

The McGill Strategic Research Plan 2013-2018 is the result. We feel its content and structure best encapsulate the overarching themes that emerged through the extensive outreach to our communities.  

Balancing priorities with flexibility

Although the SRP by definition identifies a limited number of fields and disciplines, we hope to ultimately create a document that balances specificity with high-level language and ideas. Our objective is to articulate an overall strategic vision for research excellence across the University while respecting the intellectual freedom and independence of researchers and students as well as the cultures of their faculties and departments.

Advisory Committee 


Dr. Rosie Goldstein, former Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation), Chair

Jan Jorgensen, Associate Provost (Faculty Affairs and Resource Allocation), Adviser

Martin Kreiswirth, Associate Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, Adviser

Faculty Members

Roger Azevedo, Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, Faculty of Education

Lesley Fellows, Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Faculty of Medicine

Philippe Gros, Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine

Bruce Lennox, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Jacob Levy, Department of Political Science, Faculty of Arts

Steve Maguire, Department of Strategy and Organization, Desautels Faculty of Management

David Plant, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering

Vijaya Raghavan, Department of Bioresource Engineering, Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Jonathan Wild, Department of Music Research, Schulich School of Music

Student Members

Lily Han, Post Graduate Student Society Vice-President (University and Academic Affairs)

Lucie Low, Postdoctoral Fellow, Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain

Max Luke, Students’ Society of McGill University Science Senator

Alyssa MacLeod, Macdonald Campus Graduate Student Society President