Research Chairs

Dentistry research is moving from the dental chair to the core of the health sciences at large. The Faculty of Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences' leading research program boasts numerous research chairs, including:

The mandate of these prestigious appointments is to advance the frontier of knowledge within their fields in areas identified as of the utmost critical concern to society.


Canada Research Chairs

Tier 1

Tier 2


Past Research Chairs

  • Luda Diatchenko - Canada Excellence Research Chair in Human Pain Genetics Laureate
  • Faleh Tamimi Marino - Musculo-Skeletal (Tier 2)
  • Dieter Reinhardt - Cell-Matrix Biology (Tier 1)
  • Jake Barralet - Osteoconductive Biomaterials (Tier 2)
  • Gary Bennett  - Pain Control (Tier 1)
  • Svetlana Komarova - Osteoclast Biology (Tier 1)
  • Petra Schweinhardt - Neurobiology of Chronic Pain (Tier 2)
  • Simon Tran - Craniofacial Stem Cells (Tier 2)

William Dawson Scholars


Past Awardees

Distinguished James McGill Professors

James McGill Professors

Past Awardees

Back to top