McGill Alert / Alerte de McGill

Updated: Fri, 07/12/2024 - 12:16

McGill Alert. The downtown campus will remain partially closed through the evening of Monday, July 15. See the Campus Safety site for details.

Alerte de McGill. Le campus du centre-ville restera partiellement fermé jusqu’au lundi 15 juillet, en soirée. Complément d’information : Direction de la protection et de la prévention

SCS Award for Distinguished Teaching

Google Code for Remarketing Tag - Bloom

Every year at Spring Convocation, the McGill School of Continuing Studies (SCS) honours one or more of its instructors with an Award for Distinguished Teaching. SCS presented its first Award for Distinguished Teaching in 1993. Our goal was, and remains, to recognize teachers who embody the highest attributes of the teaching profession.

For this award, the School wishes to honour teachers who...

are engaged and engaging in the classroom, putting learners at the centre of their teaching practice. Among other things, they:

  • are passionate about supporting students’ learning;
  • motivate, stimulate, and inspire their students;
  • provide encouragement and a sense of accomplishment notwithstanding the difficulty of any given assignment or course;
  • present material in compelling or innovative ways;
  • relate course content to learners’ experiences outside the classroom;
  • value and build on their students’ existing knowledge and competences; and
  • help students develop autonomy in the learning process.

embody the utmost in professionalism. Among other things, they:

  • foster an inclusive learning environment;
  • are responsive to requests for guidance;
  • provide timely feedback on student learning; and
  • are at all times professional and respectful.

are experts in their field. Among other things, they:

  • consistently demonstrate their currency and expertise in the subject matter or field, and
  • serve as role models or mentors to students.

Those selected will receive a Certificate at Spring Convocation.

Nominations Now Being Accepted for the 2025 Award for Distinguished Teaching

Deadline to submit a nomination:
February 14, 2025

Eligibility to Nominate

  1. Nominations are accepted from students and from instructors, including academic domain directors, who wish to nominate a colleague.
  2. Nominations are accepted from students who completed courses in the following semesters:
    • Winter 2024
    • Spring/Summer 2024
    • Fall 2024
  3. Students may nominate only one instructor.

Eligibility of Nominees

  1. Eligible candidates include all instructors (Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Faculty and Sr. Faculty Lecturers, Course Lecturers, and Academic Associates with teaching responsibilities) who taught one or more courses administered by SCS in one or more of the following semesters:
    • Winter 2024
    • Spring/Summer 2024
    • Fall 2024
  2. Candidates must have taught at SCS for a minimum of three (3) years since joining McGill University (do not need to be consecutive).
  3. An instructor may receive an award only once during a five (5)-year period (see the list of previous winners below).

Nomination Procedure

  1. Complete the Form (deadline: February 14, 2025)
  2. Only one nomination per person is allowed.


Recipients of the Award for Distinguished Teaching


Dr. Amin Ranj Bar


Carmen Borsellino


Dr. Mehdi Babaei

Sylvain Gauthier


Dr. Donetta Hines

Dr. Hang Lau

Paul Mirshak


Robert William Abbott

Katherine Marie Malo


Dr. Diane Dechief

Jeffrey Sacksner


Dr. Zachary Abram

Georges Bryson 


Helle-Mai Lenk
Joseph N. Armanious


Bruce Manson


Andrew Churchill
Erin Reid
Robert Saggers


Carolyn Samuel
Leanna Turner
Chantal Westgate


Jocelyne Philie
Maria Eduarda Nunes


Manon Gadbois
Leo Kerklaan


Raad Jassim
Dr. Eric Dupont

2010  Julia Mercuri-Albisi

Grant Brown


Zina Suissa
Bruce Manson


Lloyd Bartlett
Dr. Daniel Zamorano


Tomasz Maciej Kiczka


Kenneth Matziorinis


Ina Diéguez


Sharron Dorothy Wall


Amparo Garavito


Charles Roth


Latchmy Narine


Wajeeh Elali
Marie Melenca


Marie-Claude Beauchamp


Sheldon Deitcher


Margaret Kumor-Wysocka


Joyce Cunningham


Kevin Callahan


Manuel Mendonça


Arshad Ahmad
Ronald Charow
Edward Heft
Kenneth Matziorinis
Craig Morrison
Maria Nunes
Charles Roth
Jeffrey Schwartz
Vasu Seshadri
Albert Teitlebaum


Back to top