Dept. of Physiology

Congrats to the Orlowski Lab on their recent paper published in Nature Communications entitled "Structure and mechanism of the human NHE1-CHP1 complex."

Classified as: dept. of physiology
Published on: 9 Jun 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Steve Lomber and the members of the Cerebral Systems Lab for the recent publication of their article "Ultrasonic Hearing in Cats and Other Terrestrial Animals" in Acoustics Today.

Classified as: dept. of physiology
Published on: 31 May 2021

Harry Leonard Goldsmith May 11, 1928 - March 10, 2021

Classified as: dept. of physiology, In Memoriam
Published on: 26 Apr 2021

Krešimir – Krešo (later in life Kris and KK) Krnjević was born on September 7, 1927 in Zagreb, Croatia in the family of Dr Juraj Krnjević, then Secretary of the Croatian Peasant Party, and Nada Hiršl. The political situation in Yugoslavia very much influenced his early years and the next 20 years of peripatetic lifestyle. The family was forced into exile 1930 and, until establishment of Croatian Banovina in 1939, they lived in Switzerland where Kris completed junior high school in French. Three years in the IV Real High school in Zagreb were KK’s only formal education in Croatia.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, In Memoriam
Published on: 20 Apr 2021

The Department of Physiology held its first online Undergraduate Awards & Information Session on Friday, April 9, 2021.

The students completing PHGY 461 were presented with participation certificates and the following award recipients were announced:


Dr. Ann Wechsler Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Physiology (presented by PULS):
U1/U2 - Dr. Melissa Vollrath
U3 - Dr. David Ragsdale

Published on: 12 Apr 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Reza Sharif for being part of the Brain Canada grant led by Dr. Yves de Koninck: The Canadian Optogenetics and Vectorology Foundry. Reza and other team members from across the country form a consortium of research sites that aims to accelerate the development and dissemination of optogenetic and viral tools.

Published on: 7 Apr 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Anmar Khadra on his role as editor of the new book Diabetes Systems Biology, published in December 2020 through IOP Publishing.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, CAMBAM
Published on: 18 Mar 2021

Congratulations to Dr. Reza Sharif Naeini, Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology, and his colleagues at McGill University, Drs. Ed Ruthazer, Stuart Trentholm, Myriam Srour and Rob Koenekoop, for their success as co-PIs on a grant entitled Neurodevelopmental basis of nervous system disorders (NeuroBasis) awarded by the Canadian Foundation for Innovation. This grant involved 5 additional neuroscientists and clinicians from the Université de Montréal: Drs.

Published on: 11 Mar 2021

Congratulations to physiology student Mégane Pépin, one of six learners to receive the inaugural Teaching Innovation Award within the McGill Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Classified as: dept. of physiology
Published on: 15 Feb 2021

Important pain research from the Sharif Lab is helping develop cannabidiol (CBD) therapies to treat chronic pain.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, Sharif Lab, McGill Research Centre for Cannabis
Published on: 10 Feb 2021

We are pleased to announce that our core faculty member Dr. Reza Sharif has been nominated as the new Director of the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain (AECRP). Dr. Sharif will succeed Dr. Jeffrey Mogil, whose second term will end on April 30, 2021

Classified as: dept. of physiology, AECRP
Published on: 3 Feb 2021

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Reza Sharif, winner of the 2021 Canadian Pain Society Early Career Award. The Early Career Award recognizes outstanding achievements in pain research and/or management by an individual at the early stage of his or her career. Dr.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, Canadian Pain Society
Published on: 27 Jan 2021

The Faculty of Science is celebrating McGill’s 200th anniversary with a student art exhibition on the theme of “Science!”. McGill students at all levels and all faculties are invited to submit works in any medium, expressing what science means to them.

Faculty of Science bicentennial committee member, Torsten Bernhard, says the aim of the exhibition is to celebrate science in all its forms.

Published on: 12 Jan 2021

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Claire Brown, one of 22 recipients of the Chan-Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) imaging scientist grant. These funds are to support the advancement of biomedical imaging technologies and provide increased training and access to imaging scientists, leading to enhanced views of the inner workings of cells for a better understanding of what causes diseases and how to treat them.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, ABIF
Published on: 3 Dec 2020

Congratulations to physiology faculty member Dr. Masha Prager-Khoutorsky, one of 20 Canada-wide recipients of the Brain Canada 2019 Future Leaders in Canadian Brain Research award. This grant program provides early-career neuroscience researchers the opportunity to develop new lines of research and gather preliminary data to apply for larger grants.

Classified as: dept. of physiology, neuroscience, Brain Canada, Prager-Khoutorsky lab
Published on: 13 Nov 2020


Back to top