History of Biomedical Engineering at McGill

Biomedical engineering started at McGill with the founding of the Biomedical Engineering Unit in 1966, with Dr. John H. Milsum as its first director. The new Unit was originally under the joint administration of the Faculties of Engineering and Medicine, but later became part of the Faculty of Medicine only.

After Dr. Milsum moved to UBC in 1972, Dr. Charles A. Laszlo was acting director briefly and then moved to UBC himself. The next BMEU director was Dr. John S. Outerbridge, and Dr. Robert E. Kearney became director in 1985.

The Biomedical Engineering Unit became a full Department in 1989, the first in Canada. 

The following table summarizes BME Chairs since its inception as a department:

BME Dept. Chair
1989 to Aug. 2005

Prof. R.E. Kearney

BME Dept. Chair
Sept. 2005 to Dec. 2012

Prof. H.L. Galiana

BME Dept. Chair (Interim)
Jan. 2013 to Feb. 2018

Prof. R.E. Kearney

BME Dept. Chair
​Mar. 2018 to present

Prof. D. Juncker
Back to top