Dean's Office Team

Dean's Office

Faculty Leadership

The McGill Education Dean’s Office is the Faculty’s senior leadership, comprised of the Dean and three Associate Deans, supported by administrative and support staff. These leaders guide the organizational and financial development of the Faculty, advising and facilitating research and innovation, programs and areas of study, infrastructure, partnerships, policy, campaigns, student group initiatives, and much more.

Dr. Victoria Talwar

Dr. Victoria Talwar
Interim Dean, Faculty of Education
Canada Research Chair Tier II (2017-22)| James McGill Professor
Professor, Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology


Associate Deans

Dr. Marie-Hélène Pennestri headshot

Dr. Marie-Hélène Pennestri
Associate Dean of
Research and Innovation

Associate Professor,
Department of Educational
and Counselling Psychology

Dr. Sheryl Smith-Gilman headshot

Dr. Sheryl Smith-Gilman
Associate Dean of
Academic Programs

Faculty Lecturer,
Department of Integrated Studies
in Education

Dr. Caroline Paquette Headshot

Dr. Caroline Paquette
Associate Dean of Administration

Associate Professor, Department of
Kinesiology and Physical Education


Department Chairs

Dr. Limin Jao headshot

Dr. Limin Jao
Interim Chair, Department of Integrated Studies in Education (DISE)
Associate Professor, DISE

Dr. Victoria Talwar headshot

Dr. Steven R. Shaw
Interim Chair, Department of Educational
and Counselling Psychology (ECP)
Associate Professor, ECP

Dr. Gordon Bloom headshot

Dr. Gordon Bloom
Chair, Department of Kinesiology
and Physical Education (KPE)
Professor, KPE




Dean’s Office Administrative Team



Faculty Council and Committees

Faculty Council

The Faculty Council is a collegial forum for discussion of the Faculty’s governance. The Council provides strategic direction and includes both elected and appointed representation from across the Faculty community, including the Dean’s Office, department leadership, academics, students, and staff. Moreover, the Faculty Council is bound by its constitution, as approved by the McGill Senate. Four meetings are scheduled throughout the academic calendar with sessions being open to current members of the Faculty of Education, unless otherwise indicated. Note that Council Members have priority during discussions and voting, but that all attendees have the opportunity to ask questions during an open Q&A segment at the end of each meeting. Archived minutes are [at] (subject: Request%20for%20Faculty%20Council%20Minutes) (available upon request).

Meeting Schedule Submit a Question or Motion

Meeting Minutes


eetings are in-person (by invitation only) on the following Wednesdays from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM.

  • January 31, 2024
  • March 27, 2024

Faculty Council Members: To submit a question or make a motion, please fill out the form below which will be submitted to the Faculty of Education Senior Administrative Coordinator.


2022-23 and 2023-24 minutes to be posted soon.


Dean’s Office Executive Committee

The Dean’s Office Executive Committee provides high-level senior administrative planning, review, and approval of the Faculty’s initiatives, policies and procedures, prior to their referral to Faculty Council for final review and ratification. The Executive Committee is comprised of the Dean (as Committee Chair), the three Associate Deans, the three Department Chairs, the Director of Internships and Students Affairs, as well as the Senior Advisor to the Dean (ex officio).

Academic Policy Committee

The Academic Policy Committee considers proposals for new and revised courses, programs, and academic policies for the Faculty of Education. Meetings occur monthly in EDUC-233 (or virtually if needed), by invitation only. Chaired by the Associate Dean of Academic Programs, the is made up of departmental, representatives, including Internships and Student Affairs and Libraries, in addition to undergraduate and graduate students. Minutes from past meetings may be available by request, by contacting the vanessa.bridgman [at] (subject: Academic%20Policy%20Committee%20Inquiry) (Dean's Office).

Academic Policy Committee Reference Links:

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Committee (FEEDIC)

The Faculty of Education's Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee is known as FEEDIC. It is an advisory committee to the Dean and is mandated to enforce McGill’s Strategic EDI Plan within McGill Education as well as to develop and execute new Faculty of Education initiatives that promote equity, diversity, and inclusion concerning recruitment, education, and conflict resolution. With representatives from all three departments, the Internships and Student Affairs Office, as well as Education’s undergraduate and graduate student associations, committee members are encouraged to bring forward issues that affect their peers and seek actions to promote unity and opportunity for all.

Back to top