McGill University Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Learning

Recognizing sustained excellence in leadership and innovation, as well as the active integration of teaching and learning with inquiry, scholarship, and research.


Nominations for this award must come from Faculty Deans, but all faculty members, students, former students, and others are encouraged to bring forward names of colleagues and professors whose long-term achievements and contributions to learning at McGill are truly outstanding.

This unique form of recognition brings with it a monetary award.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2020 Award are now being accepted. Detailed guidelines and the nomination form are below:

PDF icon 2020 Nomination guidelines

PDF icon 2020 Nomination form

Revised deadline to submit: Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Questions? Contact nancy.stpierre2 [at] (Nancy St-Pierre)

Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Learning

2018: No award conferred

2017: Linda Snell, Faculty of Medicine

2016: Dr. Richard Cruess & Dr. Sylvia Cruess, Faculty of Medicine (joint nominees)
Professor Peter Schubert, Schulich School of Music

2015: No Award conferred

2014: Henry Mintzberg, Desautels Faculty of Management

2013: Ann Wechsler, Faculty of Medicine

2012: Rhonda Amsel, Faculty of Science

2011: Roderick A. Macdonald, Faculty of Law

2010: David N. Harpp, Faculty of Science


McGill University is on land which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples, including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabeg nations. We acknowledge and thank the diverse Indigenous people whose footsteps have marked this territory on which peoples of the world now gather.

Back to top