Key academic dates

On this page: Fall_2020Winter_2021

Fall 2020

Key Academic Dates & Other Important Dates

The Key Academic Dates found below are those approved by Senate in May 2019.

Note 2: On Thursday, December 3, the normal Thursday schedule of course lectures, labs and conferences will be replaced by a Monday schedule. To assist you in determining which courses will be taught on that day, please consult the table below.

Other important dates built around the Key Academic Dates include:

There are many other types of deadlines and events that you may need to be aware of (e.g., registration start and end dates, thesis deadlines, convocation dates, fee payment deadlines) which can be found here.

Class start and end dates by schedule pattern

Class start and end dates vary according to the schedule pattern and on what day, if applicable, the make-up lecture day is held. See note below for schedule pattern(s) that require the make-up lecture day.2
If your course has a
schedule pattern of:
Your first class is on: Your last class is on:
Monday (M)2 Monday, Sept. 14 Monday, Dec. 7
Tuesday (T) Tuesday, Sept. 8 Tuesday, Dec. 1
Wednesday (W) Wednesday, Sep. 2 Wednesday, Nov. 25
Thursday (R) Thursday, Sept. 3 Thursday, Nov. 26
Friday (F) Friday, Sept. 4 Friday, Nov. 27
Mon-Wed (MW)2 Wednesday, Sept. 2 Thursday, Dec. 32
Mon-Wed-Fri (MWF)2 Wednesday, Sept. 2 Thursday, Dec. 32
Wed-Fri (WF) Wednesday, Sept. 2 Friday, Nov. 27
Tues-Thurs (TR) Thursday, Sept. 3 Tuesday, Dec. 1
Mon-Tues-Thurs (MTR)2 Thursday, Sept. 3 Monday, Dec. 7
Tues-Thurs-Fri (TRF) Thursday, Sept. 3 Tuesday, Dec. 1
2Thursday, Dec. 3 is the make-up lecture day for Monday classes and will follow a Monday schedule.

The schedule patterns in this table follow the same convention as course listings in Minerva Class Schedule. Each pattern indicates the days on which a course is normally held – for example, a course with a MWF pattern is held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Legal holidays

Administrative offices are closed on the following dates:

  • Labour Day: Monday, September 7
  • Thanksgiving: Monday, October 12
  • Holiday break: Thursday, December 24, 2020 to Sunday, January 3, 2021 inclusive

Library hours are available on the Library website.

 


Winter 2021

Key Academic Dates & Other Important Dates

IMPORTANT NOTE: Winter 2021 academic dates were revised on 2 December 2020 to accommodate an extended holiday break for students. As a result, classes for the majority of students begin on January 7. However, some exceptions apply — classes for the following courses/schools/faculties begin on January 4 as originally planned:

  • Stage/internship courses in the School of Human Nutrition
  • Internship/field work courses in the Department of Educational & Counselling Psychology
  • Faculty of Dentistry (DMD programs)
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences:
    • School of Medicine (MDCM programs)
    • Ingram School of Nursing
    • School of Physical & Occupational Therapy Premasters (U3 and Master's Qualifying Year) courses and Clinical Practicum courses
    • School of Communication Sciences & Disorders
    • School of Population & Global Health graduate level courses
    • School of Biomedical Sciences graduate/professional programs

Although courses in the abovementioned academic units begin earlier than other units (i.e. Jan. 4), they will otherwise follow the same dates and deadlines (ex.: add/drop deadline, withdrawal deadlines, etc.) as described below.


The Key Academic Dates found below are those approved by Senate on 2 December 2020.

Note 3: On Thursday, April 15, the normal Thursday schedule of course lectures, labs and conferences will be replaced by a Monday schedule. To assist you in determining which courses will be taught on that day, please consult the table below.

Other important dates built around the Key Academic Dates include:

There are many other types of deadlines and events that you may need to be aware of (e.g., registration start and end dates, thesis deadlines, convocation dates, fee payment deadlines) which can be found here.

Class start and end dates by schedule pattern

Class start and end dates vary according to the schedule pattern and on what day, if applicable, the make-up lecture day is held.3
  Courses following the standard Winter 2021 academic dates Courses exempted from the Winter 2021 delayed start (see IMPORTANT NOTE highlighted above)
If your course has a schedule pattern of: Your first class is on: Your last class is on: Your first class is on: Your last class is on:
Monday (M)3 Monday, Jan. 11 Thursday, Apr. 153 Monday, Jan. 4 Monday, Apr. 12
Tuesday (T) Tuesday, Jan. 12 Tuesday, Apr. 13 Tuesday, Jan. 5 Tuesday, Apr. 6
Wednesday (W) Wednesday, Jan. 13 Wednesday, Apr. 14 Wednesday, Jan. 6 Wednesday, Apr. 7
Thursday (R) Thursday, Jan. 7 Thursday, Apr. 8 Thursday, Jan. 7 Thursday, Apr. 8
Friday (F) Friday, Jan. 8 Friday, Apr. 16 Friday, Jan. 8 Friday, Apr. 16
Mon-Wed (MW)3 Monday, Jan. 11 Thursday, Apr. 153 Monday, Jan. 4 Monday, Apr. 12
Mon-Wed-Fri (MWF)3 Friday, Jan. 8 Friday, Apr. 16 Monday, Jan. 4 Wednesday, Apr. 14
Wed-Fri (WF) Friday, Jan. 8 Friday, Apr. 16 Wednesday, Jan. 6 Wednesday, Apr. 14
Tues-Thurs (TR) Thursday, Jan. 7 Tuesday, Apr. 13 Tuesday, Jan. 5 Thursday, Apr. 8
Mon-Tues-Thurs (MTR)3 Thursday, Jan. 7 Thursday, Apr. 153 Monday, Jan. 4 Monday, Apr. 12
Tues-Thurs-Fri (TRF) Thursday, Jan. 7 Friday, Apr. 16 Tuesday, Jan. 5 Tuesday, Apr. 13
3For courses following the standard Winter 2021 dates approved on 2 Dec. 2020, Thursday, Apr. 15 is the make-up lecture day for Monday classes and will follow a Monday schedule.

The schedule patterns in this table follow the same convention as course listings in Minerva Class Schedule. Each pattern indicates the days on which a course is normally held – for example, a course with a MWF pattern is held on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Legal holidays

Administrative offices are closed on the following dates:

  • Holiday break: Thursday, December 24, 2020 to Sunday, January 3, 2021 inclusive
  • Good Friday: April 2, 2021
  • Easter Monday: April 5, 2021

Library hours are available on the Library website.

Back to top