Appointment of R. Bruce Lennox as Dean of the Faculty of Science

Published: 22 May 2015

McGill’s Board of Governors accepted the recommendation of Principal Suzanne Fortier to appoint Prof. R. Bruce Lennox as Dean of the Faculty of Science at its meeting on 21 May 2015. Prof. Lennox will take office on 1 July 2015 for a five-year term.

Prof. Lennox joined the McGill faculty in 1987 and is currently Tomlinson Professor of Chemistry. He was formerly chair of the Department of Chemistry and recently completed a year-long term as President of the McGill Association of University Teachers (MAUT).
A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), and the Chemical Institute of Canada, Prof. Lennox led the renewal of laboratory teaching in the Department of Chemistry and has long been a proponent of increased interdisciplinarity.  He has also made a point of providing undergraduates with opportunities to experience research at the laboratory level. Passionate about teaching and learning innovations, particularly at the undergraduate level, Prof. Lennox is a past winner of the Faculty of Science’s Leo Yaffe Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Prof. Lennox’s research program focuses on the design and synthesis of nanomaterials, with applications in biophysical devices, “smart” nanocomposites, and biosensors. This research has led to a number of collaborations with biochemists, neuroscientists, pharmacologists, microbiologists, cell biologists, chemical and electrical engineers, and physicists. His research group has been supported by more than $5 million in grants awarded by NSERC, FCAR/FRQNT, CIHR, and CFI, while the various roles he played in a number of research consortia helped bring more than $60 million in funding support to McGill. This latter amount includes funding for research facilities, major instrumentation and the Canada Excellence Research Chair. In all, Prof. Lennox’s research program has produced more than 130 peer-reviewed publications.



Back to top