Max Bell School Faculty 2020-21

The Max Bell School’s accomplished and well-rounded MPP teaching team is committed to helping shape and prepare the next generation of policy leaders. Here are some of the academics teaching public policy theory, and practitioners demonstrating how to put core skills into practice

Core Faculty and Leadership


Image of Chris RaganChristopher Ragan

Economics professor and Director, Max Bell School of Public Policy

Member of Finance Minister’s Advisory Council on Economic Growth; Former Special Advisor to the Governor of the Bank of Canada; former Clifford Clark Visiting Economist at Finance Canada


Andrew Potter

Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director of the Max Bell School

Former editor in chief of the Ottawa Citizen and public affairs columnist for Maclean's Magazine

Author of The Authenticity Hoax: How We Get Lost Finding Ourselves, and the co-author, with Joseph Heath, of the best-selling book The Rebel Sell: Why the Culture Can't be Jammed


Pearl Eliadis

Affiliate Member at the Max Bell School of Public Policy

Adjunct Professor in McGill’s Faculty of Law

Over 20 years of experience in democratic governance and public policy; has been retained by clients including the UN, the European Commission and the OSCE in China, Ethiopia, Nepal, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tajikistan and Timor-Leste


Nathalie Duchesnay

Faculty Lecturer, Max Bell School

Policy Lab Coordinator, Max Bell School

Course lecturer, MBA program at the Desautels Faculty of Management

President, NextStep Services


Taylor Owen

Beaverbrook Chair in Media, Ethics, and Communications, Max Bell School of Public Policy

Public Policy Forum Fellow and the 2016 Public Policy Forum Emerging Leader

Author of Journalism After Snowden: The Future of the Free Press in the Surveillance State, and The Platform Press: How Silicon Valley Reengineered Journalism 


Jennifer Welsh

Canada 150 Research Chair in Global Governance & Security, McGill University 

Co-founder of the Oxford Institute for Ethics, Law & Armed Conflict

Former special advisor to UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon on the responsibility to protect 


MPP Teaching Faculty (2020-21)


Nii Addy

Assistant Professor at the Institute for the Study of International Development

Former consultant and researcher for organizations including the UK Department for International Development (DFID), the World Bank, the Hewlett Foundation, Mathematica Policy Research, Inc. and ICF International.


Anne Andermann

Associate Professor in McGill’s Faculty of Medicine

Founding director of the CLEAR Collaboration, that aims to help frontline health workers address the underlying social causes of poor health through a combination of direct patient care, referral and advocacy for larger social change.


Dale Beugin

Research and Analysis Vice President, Canadian Institute for Climate Choices

Has consulted for governments and organizations across Canada and internationally

Former policy advisor for the National Round Table on the environment and the economy


Ken Boessenkool

Ken Boessenkool is the J.W. McConnell Professor of Practice at the Max Bell School of Public Policy at McGill University.

He is also a Research Fellow at the CD Howe Institute, contributor to The Line and President and founder of Sidicus Consulting Ltd.


Russell Copeman 

Former Mayor of the Borough of Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

Fourteen year tenure in the National Assembly, including Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health and Social Services, Mr. Philippe Couillard


Adam Daifallah

Senior Managing Director of Teneo

Formerly sat on the editorial board of the National Post in Toronto; Former Washington, D.C. correspondent of The New York Sun


Laura Dawson

Principal Program Manager (Americas) at Amazon Web Services Institute at Amazon Web Services

Former senior advisor on economic affairs at the United States Embassy in Ottawa

Fellow at the Canadian Defence & Foreign Affairs Institute


Don Drummond


Stauffer-Dunning Fellow in Global Public Policy and Adjunct Professor at the School of Policy Studies at Queen’s University

2011-12 Chair for the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services


Mayssun El-Attar

Faculty Lecturer, Department of Economics


Chantal Hébert

Political columnist with the Toronto Star and a weekly participant on CBC’s The National “At Issue” panel.

Author of “French Kiss: Stephen Harper’s Blind Date with Quebec” and “The Morning After”, which was shortlisted for the Shaughnessy Cohen prize for political writing.


Geoff Kelley

Member of the Quebec National Assembly 1994-2018

Minister responsible for Native Affairs, 2005-7, 2011-2, 2014-8.


Tasha Kheiriddin

Media commentator and political analyst

2004 Ontario Director, Canadian Taxpayers Federation

Former Vice-President of the Montreal Economic Institute; Former Director for Quebec of the Fraser Institute


Nicholas King

Associate professor in Biomedical Ethics and in the Department of Social Studies of Medicine, McGill University


Louis Levesque

CEO of Finance Montreal

Former Deputy Minister of Transport Canada

Over 30 years of experience in the public service with senior roles at Finance Canada, Privy Council Office, and International Trade


Vrinda Narain

Policy Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University

Former Associate Dean, Academic, of McGill University's Faculty of Law

 Recipient of the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice’s Charles D. Gonthier Research Fellowship>


Kevin Page

Appointed Canada’s first Parliamentary Budget Officer in 2008

President and CEO of the Institute of Fiscal Studies & Democracy, University of Ottawa

Over 25 years of experience in the Canadian federal public service including Finance Canada, the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Privy Council Office


Ian Peach

Adviser to the Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre at the University of New Brunswick; Public Policy Consultant

Former Director of Constitutional Relations in the Department of Intergovernmental Affairs; Former Senior Policy Advisor in Saskatchewan Executive Council

Former Dean of Law at the University of New Brunswick


David Shribman


Awarded a Pulitzer Prize in 1995 for his coverage of U.S. politics

Ten years as the Washington Bureau Chief of The Boston Globe


Cindy Skrzycki

Senior Lecturer, Department of English, University of Pittsburgh and correspondent for GlobalPost

Former staff of the Washington Post


Jamison Steeve 

Executive Director, Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity; Executive Director, The Martin Prosperity Institute

Former Principal Secretary, Office of the Premier of Ontario


John Stewart

Director of Policy and Research, Canadian Nuclear Association

Chair of the Policy Committee of Canada’s National Electricity Roundtable from 2015-18

Formerly Canada’s representative to the Washington-based Global Nexus Initiative


Photograph of Debra ThompsonDebra Thompson

Associate Professor, Political Science Department, McGill University

Leading scholar of the comparative politics of race

Author of The Schematic State: Race, Transnationalism, and the Politics of the Census


Brian Topp

Former Chief of Staff to Alberta Premier Rachel Notley and Deputy Chief of Staff to Saskatchewan Premier Roy Romanow

Partner at KTG Public Affairs

Executive Director of ACTRA Toronto


Daniel Weinstock

Full Professor, Director of the McGill Institute for Health and Social Policy, Katharine A. Pearson Chair in Civil Society and Public Policy in the Faculties of Law and of Arts

Previously a Professor of Philosophy at the Université de Montréal, Daniel Weinstock held Canadian Research Chair on Ethics and Political Philosophy. He was also the director of the Research Centre on Ethics at Université de Montréal (CRÉUM) for many years.



Back to top