Futululu Workshop 2005: CINE Global Health

St. Lucia, South Africa

Participants at Futulu Conference

Conference Organizers

Harriet V. Kuhnlein, PhD, RD
Project Coordinator
Professor, Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition and Environment
Macdonald Campus of McGill University

Dina Spigelski, MSc, RD
Project Manager
Centre for Indigenous Peoples’ Nutrition and Environment
Macdonald Campus of McGill University

Bill Erasmus
Chair, CINE Governing Board

Researchers working in areas of traditional food resources, food diversity and health attended a workshop “Safari” in South Africa, September 17-18 at Futululu Environmental Centre, St Lucia, South Africa. This was a Pre-Congress event of the 18th International Congress of Nutrition (ICN). The Safari aimed to develop and foster African researchers and African linkages, and highlighted CINE’s Global Health research program.

The Safari joined 28 researchers from Canada, Federated States of Micronesia, India, Malawi, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, South Africa, Thailand, United Kingdom and the United States of America with 17 Zulu community members.

The Safari was an essential activity of the IUNS Task Force on Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems and Nutrition chaired by Dr. Harriet Kuhnlein. The agenda included presentations by Task Force members and activity modules conducted with Zulu community members to assist their identification of elements in their local food systems. These modules were conducted by experienced Task Force members and served as training experiences for all Safari participants.

Task Force members present at the Safari were: Dr. Lalita Bhattacharjee (India), Hilary Creed-Kanashiro (Peru), Dr. Lois Englberger (Federated States of Micronesia), Dr. Chinwe Okeke (Nigeria) and Dr. Suttilak Smitasiri (Thailand). Representing leadership of our hosts within the KwaZulu community was Blessing Karumbidza, Emelda Dimakatso Shongwe and Nokuthula Ndlovu. The sessions were co-chaired by Dr. Kuhnlein and Chief Bill Erasmus, Chair of the CINE Governing Board and NWT Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations in Canada.

We gratefully acknowledge financial and in kind support provided by:

Sponsors of CINE Symposium

Back to top