Morty Yalovsky Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership

About the Award

The Morty Yalovsky Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership recognizes sustained excellence over an academic career in leadership and contribution to the McGill community. Named after Professor Morty Yalovsky, who devoted more than five decades of service to McGill as an exemplary pedagogue, researcher, and academic leader, this Award honours the lifetime achievements and dedication to McGill University of academic staff, whose service to our university community has been both exemplary and inspiring. Recipients of the award shall embody the characteristics valued by the McGill community and by Professor Yalovsky: integrity, wisdom, good judgment, dedication to collegial governance, academic rigour, and institutional commitment.


Nominees shall be current or recently retired (i.e., within the last 12 months) McGill tenure-stream academic staff or full-time ranked contract academic staff who have advanced McGill’s Mission and Principles through their service within administrative leadership roles (e.g. dean, chair, director, associate or assistant dean, or as the heads of other McGill initiatives).

Award and Value

One awardee will be selected each year and presented with their award at the Fall Convocation. Recipients will receive a plaque and a monetary award of $5,000.

Selection Criteria

Nominees will have a demonstrated record of initiative, impact, and influence in executing their administrative responsibilities. Moreover, they will have shown steadfast loyalty to McGill University, a willingness to champion and advance the interests of colleagues and of the institution over their own personal objectives, and a capacity to develop a vision for McGill as a stronger institution and to put effective measures in place to realize that vision.

Nomination Process

Each Faculty may nominate one of their eligible members for this award. The nomination package will include:

  1. One letter of nomination from the Dean of the Faculty;
  2. Two letters of support from current or former colleagues (1 page maximum);
  3. The CV of the nominee.

Nominations should be sent by email to events.oap [at] Submission of 2023 nominations is closed.


Adjudication Process

Nominations will be assessed based on the selection criteria by a Review Selection Committee that consists of:

  • Provost and Executive Vice-President (Academic) (Chair)
  • Associate Provost (Equity & Academic Policies)
  • One Vice-President or Associate Vice-President (who is not the Provost or an Associate Provost)
  • Three faculty members currently serving in the role of Dean, Associate Dean or Department Chair/Director, each of whom shall be from a different Faculty
  • Two students: one graduate and one undergraduate.

Review Selection Committee Members for 2023

Member Unit Term
Professor Christopher Manfredi, Provost & Vice-Principal (Academic) Office of the Provost & Vice-Principal (Academic) Ex-officio
Professor Angela Campbell, Associate Provost (Equity & Academic Policies) Office of the Provost & Vice-Principal (Academic) Ex-officio
Professor Debra Titone, Associate Vice-Principal Research 2023
Professor Sean Ferguson, Dean Schulich School of Music 2023
Professor David Stephens, Vice-Dean Faculty of Science 2023
Professor Catherine Desbarats, Chair Department of History & Classical Studies 2023
John Nguyen Post-Graduate Students' Society 2023
Lalia Katchelewa Students' Society of McGill University  2023
Back to top