Areas of research

Canadian Politics

In the Canadian Field, McGill provides an unparalleled location and unique resources for the study of Canadian and Quebec politics. Current areas of concentration include the institutions of Canadian government and federalism, political behaviors, public policy, and political economy, as well as multiculturalism, Quebec politics, and cultural dualism. The following faculty members conduct research and offer courses in the field of Canadian politics:

  • Eric Belanger
  • Elisabeth Gidengil
  • Antonia Maioni
  • Christopher Manfredi
  • Filippo Sabetti
  • Christa Scholtz
  • Richard Schultz

Comparative Government and Politics

In Comparative Government and Politics, a wide range of theoretical approaches and research interests and geographical areas of expertise (including western and post-Communist Europe, the Middle East, Latin America, East Asia, Southeast Asia and South Asia) is represented among the faculty. The following faculty members conduct research and offer courses in this field:

  • Leonardo Baccini
  • Manuel Balan
  • Rex Brynen
  • Juliet Johnson
  • Erik Kuhonta
  • Antonia Maioni
  • Hudson Meadwell
  • Khalid Medani
  • Maria Popova
  • Filippo Sabetti
  • Dietlind Stolle
  • Narendra Subramanian
  • Harold Waller
  • Juan Wang

International Relations

The field of international relations (IR) has a long and distinguished history at McGill. Teaching and research on IR began in 1952, with undergraduate courses in the area by Professor Michael Brecher, who continues to teach in the IR field. The early research interests of the scholars were regional conflict, international systems and sub-systems, foreign policy, and security. Since the 1980s, a number of pioneering works on conflict, crisis and war were produced under the International Crisis Behavior (ICB) Project which set much groundwork in this area through the assembly and analysis of a large amount of data. During the 1990s the arrival of several scholars with expertise in both security and political economy helped to enlarge the IR program. In recent years the program diversified into areas such as ethnic conflicts and constructivism.

McGill IR scholars have produced an impressive list of publications on diverse issues such as nuclear proliferation, international crises, conflict and war, ethnic conflicts, international economic relations, globalization, and regional security. Several doctoral candidates have come out of the program, bringing visibility internationally. The ICB Project , the Research Group in International Security (REGIS) , the Montreal Research Group in Ethnic Conflicts , and the Globalization and the National Security State Project represent four of the collaborative efforts by the IR faculty. These offer opportunities for faculty and students to excel in their areas of research by developing national and international networks.

The annual Workshop on Political Economy and International Security brings in a number of leading IR scholars to McGill and provide numerous opportunities for students to develop their research projects. The planned conversion of REGIS into the Center for International Peace and Security Studies is expected to strengthen the IR program even further in the years to come.

Current areas of strength include theories of international politics, international security, crises, conflict and war, ethnic conflicts, international political economy and foreign policy in the developing world, particularly the Middle East and South Asia, international political sociology and global governance. The following faculty members conduct research and offer courses in this field:

  • Fernando G. Nuñez-Mietz
  • Megan Bradley
  • Mark Brawley
  • Michael Brecher
  • T.V. Paul
  • Krzysztof Pelc
  • Vincent Pouliot

Political Theory

With eight faculty members available to supervise graduate work, McGill offers unusual breadth in political theory.  The program is pluralistic, spannning normative, critical, historical, and jurisprudential approaches.  Areas of particular strength include global and international justice; affect and emotions in politics; ancient political thought; early modern political thought; legal, associational, and cultural pluralism.

The following faculty members conduct research and offer courses in the field of political theory:

  • Arash Abizadeh
  • Jacob Levy
  • Catherine Lu
  • Victor Muniz-Fraticelli
  • Will Roberts
  • Daniel Weinstock
  • Yves Winter

Much of the activity of the McGill political theory and political philosophy community is housed in the Research Group on Constitutional Studies (RGCS) or set in the Montreal-wide Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Philosophie Politique (GRIPP).

For more information on faculty members' areas of research, see Faculty.

Back to top