About Us

The McGill University Department of Political Science and its close to 40 Faculty Members carry on a long and pioneering tradition in the study of politics in North America. Founded in 1901, the Department's distinguished faculty is actively involved in a wide variety of ongoing research projects, and is committed to achieving a high level of academic excellence in research, graduate, and undergraduate education. The largest unit in the Faculty of Arts, the department offers some 65 undergraduate courses to a combined enrollment of approximately 1300 major, honours and joint honours students and approximately 15 graduate courses to a community of 95 Masters and doctoral students.