Our People


In recognition of the tremendous importance and impact of the McGill Manual on International Law Applicable to Military Uses of Outer Space (MILAMOS), a select Group of Experts hailing from all corners of the world have committed themselves to the MILAMOS Process.

These Experts represent some of the most highly recognised professionals, academics and publicists in the domains of general international law, international space law, international humanitarian law, the law on the use of force, as well as advanced technical aspects of space utilisation. Though affiliated with governmental and intergovernmental institutions, academic and research institutitions as well as the armed forces, to ensure the neutrality  of the consensus-building process and independence of the resultant Manual, all Experts will be participating in their individual capacity and will not be representing the State or organisation they are identified with.

This impressive list of persons involved in the Project, each of whom enjoy a distinguished career and carry a wealth of experiences, is testament to the fair, inclusive, and interdisciplinary and truly global nature of MILAMOS Process and the McGill Manual.

(in alphabetical order)

  • Prof. Setsuko Aoki (Keoi University, Japan)
  • Dr. Roy Balleste (St Thomas University, United States)
  • Cpt Jérémie Ayadi (French Joint Space Command, France)
  • Ms. Svenja Berrang (German Armed Forces, Germany)
  • Prof. Dr. Olavo de O. Bittencourt Neto (Universidade Católica de Santos - UNISANTOS, Brasil)
  • Dr. Elena Carpenelli (University of Parma, Italy)
  • Wg Cdr. Bryan Cavanagh (Australian Department of Defence, Australia)
  • Mr. Kuan-Wei Chen (McGill University, Canada)
  • Mr. Gilles Doucet (Spectrum Space Security Inc.), Canada)
  • Dr. Stuart Eves (Vaeros Ltd, Aerospace Corporation UK, United Kingdom)
  • Prof. Steven Freeland (Western Sydney University, Australia)
  • Maj. John Goehring (United State Air Force, United States)
  • Mr. Bayar Goswami (McGill University, Canada)
  • Mr. Ulf Haeussler (Federal Ministry of Defense of the Federal Republic of Germany, Germany)
  • Gp. Capt. Ian Henderson (Royal Australian Air Force, Australia)
  • Mr. Christopher Johnson (Secure World Foundation, United States)
  • Prof. Stephan Hobe (University of Cologne, Institute of Air and Space Law, Germany)
  • Ms. Deborah Housen-Couriel (Interdisciplinary Cyber Research Center at Tel Aviv University and Haifa University’s Law Faculty, Israel)
  • Mr. Peter Hulsroj (Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), Austria)
  • Dr. Ram Jakhu (McGill University, Canada)
  • Dr. Bhupendra Jasani (King's College London, United Kingdom)
  • Prof. George Kyriakopoulos (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece)
  • Prof. Shouping Li (Beijing Institute of Technology, Institute of Space Law, China)
  • Dr. Bin Li (University of Newcastle, Australia)
  • Dr. Philip de Man (Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies, KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Dr. Jonathan McDowell (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, United States)
  • Prof. Frédéric Mégret (McGill University, Canada)
  • Prof. Armand de Mestral (McGill University, Canada)
  • Ms. Elina Morozova (INTERSPUTNIK, Russian Federation)
  • Ms. Rada Popova (University of Cologne, Institute of Air and Space Law, Germany)
  • Prof. Marco Sassòli (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Dr. Wolfgang Schneider (German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany)
  • Prof. Ksenia Shestakova (St Petersburg State University, Russian Federation)
  • Dr. Jinyuan Su (Xi'an Jiatong University, China)
  • Dr. Kuan Yang (Beijing Institute of Technology, Institute of Space Law, China)
  • Dr. Guoyu Wang (Beijing Institute of Technology, Institute of Space Law, China)