Tuition & Funding

High Academic Standing: 2019 Nakhle and Claudine Wehbe Fellowship

Congratulations to Jemal Yesuf for being selected to receive the 2019 Nakhle and Claudine Wehbe Fellowship! Jemal is currently a Ph.D. student within the IPN, and is being supervised by Dr. A. Sadikot. His research project is titled "Histological Atlases for Better Understanding of Deep Brain Stimulation in Parkinson's Disease."


IPN is pleased to announce that 3 of its students were recipients of this year's NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships-Doctoral (PGS-D). These scholarships are awarded to high-calibre doctoral students in natural sciences or engineering.

Featured to the right is one of the recipients, Amanda Perrozzo. A Ph.D. candidate in Dr. D. Bowie's lab, Amanda's research project is titled "Investigating the structural basis of auxiliary protein modulation for the fine-tuning of AMPA receptor signaling."

FRQ-S & FRQ-NT 2019-20

We are pleased to announce that several IPN graduate students have received funding from Fonds de Recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQ-S) and FRQ-Nature et Technologies (FRQ-NT), for the 2019-20 year.

FRQ-S awards financial support to graduate students and researchers demonstrating high standards of excellence and ethics in the health field. FRQ-NT does so in the field of natural sciences.

(To the right are few of our awardees)

RQSHA Funding

Congratulations to our student, Pascal Ibrahim, for obtaining pilot project funding from Réseau Québécois sur le Suicide, les Troubles de l'Humeur, et les Troubles Associés (RQSHA) in 2018. RQSHA recognizes and awards excellent trainees and researchers carrying out suicide research in Quebec. 

View List of Awardees

Vanier Scholars 2018


The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships are prestigious awards given to stellar Canadian doctoral students, who demonstrate both academic excellence and superior leadership skills. They are valued at $50,000 per annum, for 3 years.

In 2018, 3 of the 13 McGill Vanier Scholars were IPN students: Guido Guberman, Joanna Szyszkowicz, and Sarah Barnett-Burns. 

McGill's 2018 Vanier Scholars

Faculty of Medicine Internal Studentships 2018


McGill University's Faculty of Medicine awards internal studentships to excellent graduate students within its faculty, who are displaying high performance in both academics and research.

(To the right are some of the 2018 IPN awardees)



Canada Graduate Scholarships - Master's Program 2018


The CGS-M Program awards scholarships to excellent Canadian graduate students demonstrating high achievement in their undergraduate and early graduate years.

(To the right are few of the 2018 IPN Awardees)



The Alexander G. Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS-D) and the NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships-Doctoral (PGS-D) are awarded to high-calibre doctoral students in natural sciences or engineering. The CGS D Scholarships are valued at $35,000 per year, and the PGS D Scholarships are valued at $21,000 per year, both for a maximum of 3 years.

(To the right are few of the 2018 IPN awardees) 

CIHR Doctoral Research Awards 2018


The CIHR Doctoral Research Awards, also known as the Frederick Banting & Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarships, are given to select high-calibre doctoral students carrying out health-related research in Canada. These scholarships are valued at $35,000 per year, for up to 3 years. 

(To the right: Claire Gizowski was one of two IPN students to receive the award in 2018) 

IPN Internal Studentships 2018


The Integrated Program in Neuroscience recognizes and awards those who are in excellent academic standing in the program. Our Internal Student Awards are valued at $10,000 for 1 year. 

(To the right: Maël Mauchand was one of several recipients of the IPN Internal Student Awards in 2018) 

Bourse d'Excellence Desjardins 2018 


This is a reputable award given to an outstanding graduate student executing research at the Montreal Neurological Institute. 

The 2018 recipient of the 'Desjardins Excellence' Award is Yvonne Yau. Yvonne is an IPN Ph.D. student, and her research work investigates the neuronal underpinnings of decision and deliberations. 

The Molson Neuro-Engineering Studentships 2018


These are awarded to select graduate students executing high-level research work in the field of neuro-engineering, at the Montreal Neurological Institute. The Molson Studentships are worth $10,000 for 1 year. 

(To the right: Simon Hua and Mardja Bueno Silva are two of three IPN students to receive the Molson Studentships in 2018) 

Graduate Mobility Award: Jessie Muir

Jessie Muir, Ph.D. student in IPN, was awarded the Graduate Mobility Award , which offered her the opportunity to travel to New York to attend a course titled 'High Throughput Biology: From Sequences to Networks,' organized by

Currently training in Dr. R. Bagot's lab, Jessie's research project studies the signatures of stress susceptibility in the glutametergic inputs to the nucleus accumbens.

The Integrated Program in Neuroscience recognizes and awards remarkable incoming and current IPN students for their academic excellence, top-tier research work, and strong leadership and interpersonal skills.

Whether you are a current or prospective IPN student, we encourage you to discover the various funding opportunities available to you.

Explore funding opportunities for ...