Governors Emeriti

Since May 21, 2009, the Statutes of McGill University provide as follows with respect to governors emeriti and honorary governors:

1.1.8 On the recommendation of the Nominating Committee, the Board of Governors may appoint as governor emeritus/a a governor who has served the University with exceptional distinction for a period of not less than ten years or has held the office of Chancellor of the University. The Nominating Committee, in making a recommendation for appointment to the rank of governor emeritus/a, shall consider the nature and scope of the governor's contributions to the University and his or her capacity to continue to do so in the future. The Principal, the Chair of the Board of Governors and the Chancellor shall meet at least once each year with the Governors emeriti. Governors emeriti shall normally be appointed for an unlimited term. Governors emeriti shall be eligible for promotion to the rank of honorary governor of McGill University. This rank shall be awarded by the Board to a governor emeritus/a, on the recommendation of the Nominating and Governance Committee, where McGill wishes to recognize in perpetuity exemplary support and long-standing dedication to the institution. Governors emeriti shall be entitled to receive all materials related to meetings of the Board of Governors. Governors emeriti and Honorary Governors, while not members of the Board, shall be eligible for appointment to committees of the Board of Governors as well as to represent the Board on other bodies. When appointed to a committee of the Board of Governors, governors emeriti and Honorary Governors shall be full members of the committee, with both voice and vote, and their presence shall be considered in determining whether a quorum is present. Governors emeriti and Honorary Governors shall be entitled to participate as a member of the platform party at all convocation and installation ceremonies.



(year first named as governor emeritus)
Current Governors Emeriti:  
CEDRASCHI, Tullio Jan. 1, 2005
CLEGHORN, John Jan. 1, 2005
COBBETT, Stuart (Chair Emeritus) July 1, 2017
CORBER, Marvin Jan. 1, 2002
DAVIDSON, Margaret Jan. 1, 1995
DE GRANDPRÉ, A. Jean (Chancellor Emeritus) Jan. 1, 1992
DE GRANDPRÉ, Lili Jan. 1, 2014
EAKIN, Gael Jan. 1, 2004
ECHENBERG, Gordon Jan. 1, 2009
FAZEL, Kathy July 1, 2018
GIGUÈRE , Marie Jan. 1, 2007
KALIL, Alex Jan. 1, 2005
KUSSNER, Sheila Jan. 1, 2002
LAU, Arthur C.F. Jan. 1, 2002
MALDOFF, Eric Jan. 1, 2011
MCDOUGALL, Sally Jan. 1, 2008
MUNROE-BLUM, Heather (Principal Emerita) July 1, 2013
NORRIS, Brenda Jan. 1, 1996
MEIGHEN, Michael (Chancellor) Jan 1, 2011
PATERSON, Alex (former Chair of the Board of Governors) Jan. 1, 2006
PEETERS, Jan Jan. 1, 2010
POULIOT, Adrien Jan. 1, 2006
POUND, Richard (Chancellor Emeritus) July 1, 2009
RABINOVITCH, Robert (Chair Emeritus) Jan. 1, 2010
RICHARDS, Michael Jan 1, 2012
RIDDELL, Susan Jan. 1, 1997
SHAPIRO, Bernard (Principal Emeritus) June 1, 2003
SHEFF, Gerald Jan 1, 2011
SIMPSON, Warren Jan. 1, 2009
STAIRS, Harriet Jan. 1, 2005
TROTTIER, Lorne Jan. 1, 2005
TURCOTTE, Martine July 1, 2020
VANDAL, Thierry July 1, 2017
VENNAT, Manon Jan. 1, 2005


Back to top