Tavistock Trust for Aphasia Student Prize

From left to right, Director, Dr. Pell, Meagan Buttle, Ms. Kelly Root.

In 1992, Robin Tavistock (the late 14th Duke of Bedford, UK) founded The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia, the only grant making trust in the United Kingdom to focus solely on aphasia. The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia awards its Student Prizes at all universities in the United Kingdom, New Zealand, Australia, Canada and Ireland that have Speech and Language Therapy departments.

The original idea behind these prizes was the hope that it might help raise the profile of aphasia amongst the Speech and Language Therapists of the future. The criterion for the prize is that it is awarded for excellence in work relating to aphasia. This can be either for academic or practical work: an essay, a piece of research, clinical practice, conversation partners or similar scheme. 

Each recipient of The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia Student Prize receives a certificate as part of their prize and an award of £250.

2019 Charlotte Field
Felix Li

Karen Batchelor
Megan Smith

2017 Melissa Lye
Alexandra Zrymiak
2016 Tara Casorso
Alyssa Reinsma
2015 Meagan Buttle
Anne Heard
2014 Kaitlyn Begg
Elizabeth Murphy
2013 Amanda Ovadia
Back to top