Professional Leadership Award

Find our Online Nomination Form here.

2019 Award Winner
Colleen Timm

A dynamic healthcare leader with a dedication to continuous quality improvement, interdisciplinary practice and patient/family engagement, Colleen has been an integral member of the McGill University Health Centre since her graduation from SCSD. For the first 15 years of her career as a clinical speech-language pathologist she helped patients and their families cope with various deficits stemming from neurogenic diseases, head and neck cancer or laryngeal pathology. In 2011, Colleen became the manager of the department of speech-language pathology and audiology (adult sites) at the MUHC. Always wanting to use her energy and skills to strengthen the role of multidisciplinary services and to improve the overall care of patients, Colleen served on the MUHC’s Multidisciplinary Council from 2011 to 2017, becoming the vice-president and then president. In 2016, Colleen was promoted to the position of Assistant to the Director of Multidisciplinary Services becoming responsible for the quality improvement, teaching and research programs of the directorate. In this role, Colleen continues to lead or co-lead many organizational initiatives.

2019 Award Winner [.pdf]

2014 Award Winner
Martha Perusse

Martha Perusse (M.Sc.A 1978 ) has been dedicated to improving the lives of children with hearing loss and their families throughout her 36 year career. Upon completing her McGill studies, Martha joined the Montreal Oral School for the Deaf (MOSD) where she spent more than a decade teaching hearing-impaired children of all ages, infants to teens, in diverse instructional / intervention contexts. In 1990, she moved into administration of the MOSD, serving as Vice Principal for 7 years and then as Principal for another 17 years. Martha’s tenure as Principal represented a period of challenges, significant accomplishments, and inspirational leadership.

2014 Award Winner [.pdf]

2012 Award Winner
Sharon Fotheringham

Sharon Fotheringham has had a nationwide impact on the field of Speech-Language Pathology. In addition to her practice with both adults and children in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Ontario, she was appointed as the first director of SAC in 1996. During her fifteen-year tenure with SAC, Mrs. Fotheringham developed competency profiles for professionals as well as standards for both clinical certification and University accreditation. She also negotiated agreements with international professional associations for mutual recognition with several countries, and played a leadership role in support of key SAC committees and in the preparation of several reports of national importance to the profession.

2012 Award Winner [.pdf]

2010 Award Winner
Karen Evans

Karen Evans, (M.Sc.A. degree granted 1987) has contributed enormously in clinical settings for children as well as adults.  Ms. Evans started the development of Karen's Cues, a widely used manual cuing system for supporting speech development, and created the Semantic Parsing method for developing sentence comprehension in children with specific language impairments.

2010 Award Winner [.pdf]

2008 Award Winner
Ayala Hanen Manolson

Ayala Hanen Manolson, (M.Sc. degree granted June 1973) has made a tremendous contribution to the speech-language pathology profession and to families of children with communication disorders throughout the course of her career. Her most notable accomplishment, the founding of the Hanen Centre, is well known across Canada and internationally.

2008 Award Winner [.pdf]


Back to top