News 2012-13


December 2013. Morton Weinfeld received the Marshall Sklare Award. The award is given annually by the Association for the Sociological Study of Jewry to a senior scholar who has made a significant scholarly contribution to the social scientific study of Jewry, primarily through the publication of a body of research in books and articles or of published work related to public policy. Full citation of Prof. Weinfeld's award.

October 2013. Céline Le Bourdais received the pretigious Thérèse Gouin-Décaire Award, presented by the Association francophone pour le savoir (l'ACFAS). See an article in le Devoir describing her many research accomplishments as well as a description of her award by l'Acfas

June 2013. Céline Le Bourdais was honoured with the 2013 Canadian Population Society Award. This award honors a Canadian scholar who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession of demography and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline in Canada, through publications, teaching and/or service. Full Citation for Prof. Le Bourdais' award.

June 2013. Céline Le Bourdais and Anthony Masi were awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, to honour their significant contributions and achievements.  



September 2012. Rebecca Fuhrer was elected to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellows, one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community. Elections are based on a nominating and peer review process that seeks to recognize those with record of substantial accomplishment. Fellows are elected to the Academy based on their contributions to the promotion of health science while demonstrating leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science.