Quick Links

At a Glance

History Snapshot

⏳ The McGill Faculty of Medicine was founded in 1829. It was McGill's first faculty.

⏳ William Leslie Logie, awarded the degree of Doctor of Medicine and Surgery in 1833, was McGill's first graduate and Canada's first medicine graduate.

⏳ William Osler, considered one of the most influential figures of modern medicine, served on the faculty from 1874 to 1884.

⏳ For the tenth year in a row, McGill University is ranked first in the medical-doctoral category in Maclean’s magazine’s annual issue devoted to Canadian universities.

⏳ McGill University made an impressive move up to 11th place among the world's top universities for clinical, pre-clinical and health education in the 2011-2012 Times Higher Education (THE) rankings.


In addition to  medicine, the Faculty encompasses three allied health sciences schools: Nursing, Physical & Occupational Therapy and Communication Sciences and Disorders. There are over 80 departments, and numerous institutes and centres, among them, the Life Sciences Complex, the renowned Centre for Studies in Aging, the cutting-edge Arnold and Blema Steinberg Medical Simulation Centre, and the McGill University and Génome Québec Innovation Centre. As a leader in health care in Quebec, Canada and the world, the Faculty is strongly rooted in the three traditional pillars: health sciences education, research and patient care, as well as the modern equivalents of health policy and advocacy.

The Faculty of Medicine is part of the McGill Academic Health Network, a consortium comprised of McGill University and its major affiliated teaching hospitals, the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC), the Jewish General Hospital, the St. Mary’s Hospital Center and the Douglas Mental Health University Institute. The focus here is to build on mutual strengths in support of the highest collective achievements in patient care, education, research and health policy through greater collaboration of our partner institutions.

To organize primary care services, the government divided the province into 95 local networks (réseaux locaux), each with a “centre de santé.” For more specialized care, the local networks would have an agreement with the faculties of medicine and the teaching hospitals; for McGill, these include the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) as well as the Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General, St. Mary’s, and the Douglas Mental Health University Institute.  

RUIS McGill supports 63 per cent of Quebec. It includes central and western Montreal, the western part of the southshore, Outaouais, Abitibi-Témiscamingue, the James Bay-Cree territories, Nord du Québec and Nunavik regions and supports a population of 1.7 million. RUIS aims to continually improve access to health care by streamlining relationships between primary care providers, doctors, regional hospitals and upper-level care providers for specialized procedures.


Total number of students at the Faculty of Medicine 5,593 (Including all Schools & postdoctorals):

Medical School:

Undergraduate: 751

Graduate: 1,524

Residents/Fellows: 1,291

School of Nursing:
Undergraduate: 674
Graduate: 137

School of Physical & Occupational Therapy:
Undergraduate: 280
Graduate: 434

School of Communication Sciences & Disorders:
Graduate: 80

Overall number of postdoctorals: 536


Faculty of Medicine's total number of staff: 4,609 (including 3,969 academic staff).


As a research intensive Faculty, nearly every unit takes part in some form of research. Some of the larger hubs include the:

Life Sciences Complex
McGill University and Genome Quebec Innovation Centre
Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health
Institute for Health and Social Policy
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Social Studies of Medicine
Global Health Programs

As part of our Health Care Network, the teaching hospitals have collaboration with the Faculty as one of their core missions. Faculty professors and hospital-based researchers carry out their work within the institutes the Faculty is partnered with:

The Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre
The Lady Davis Institute (LDI)
The Research Centre of the Douglas Mental Health University Institute

The Research Centre of St. Mary’s Hospital
The Neuro (MNI/MNH)

Affiliated teaching hospitals

Jewish General Hospital

Douglas Mental Health University Institute

St. Mary's Hospital Center

McGill University Health Centre (MUHC) represents six teaching hospitals affiliated with McGill:

⬛ Montreal Children's Hospital

⬛ Montreal General Hospital

⬛ Royal Victoria Hospital

⬛ Montreal Neurological Hospital and Institute

⬛ Montreal Chest Institute

⬛ Lachine Hospital and Camille-Lefebvre Pavillion